Yellowstone National Park


Yellowstone National Park is a national park located primarily in the U.S. state of Wyoming, although it also extends into Montana and Idaho.

Yellowstone National Park from Above - 7 Stunning Sights ... by worldfromaboveHD


It was established by the U.S. Congress and signed into law by President Ulysses S. Grant on March 1, 1872.

Yellowstone National Park (USA) Vacation Travel Video Guide by Expoza Travel


Yellowstone was the first National Park in the U.S. and is also widely held to be the first national park in the world.


The park is known for its wildlife and its many geothermal features, especially Old Faithful Geyser, one of its most popular features.


It has many types of ecosystems, but the subalpine forest is the most abundant.

An ecosystem is a community of living organisms in conjunction with the nonliving components of their environment, interacting as a system.

Montane ecosystems refers to any ecosystem found in mountains.


It is part of the South Central Rockies forests ecoregion.

The South Central Rockies forests is a temperate coniferous forest ecoregion of the United States located mainly in Wyoming, Idaho, and Montana.


Native Americans have lived in the Yellowstone region for at least 11,000 years.


Aside from visits by mountain men during the early-to-mid-19th century, organized exploration did not begin until the late 1860s.


Management and control of the park originally fell under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of the Interior, the first being Columbus Delano.

Columbus Delano, was a lawyer, rancher, banker, statesman and a member of the prominent Delano family.


However, the U.S. Army was subsequently commissioned to oversee management of Yellowstone for a 30-year period between 1886 and 1916.

The United States Army is the largest branch of the United States Armed Forces and performs land-based military operations.


In 1917, administration of the park was transferred to the National Park Service, which had been created the previous year.

The National Park Service is an agency of the United States federal government that manages all U.S. national parks, many American national monuments, and other conservation and historical properties with various title designations.


Hundreds of structures have been built and are protected for their architectural and historical significance, and researchers have examined more than 1,000 archaeological sites.


Yellowstone National Park spans an area of 3,468.4 square miles, comprising lakes, canyons, rivers and mountain ranges.

A mountain range is a geographic area containing numerous geologically related mountains.


Yellowstone Lake is one of the largest high-elevation lakes in North America and is centered over the Yellowstone Caldera, the largest supervolcano on the continent.

The Yellowstone Caldera is the volcanic caldera and supervolcano located in Yellowstone National Park in the United States, sometimes referred to as the Yellowstone Supervolcano.

A supervolcano is a volcano capable of producing a volcanic eruption with an ejecta mass greater than 1015 kg.


The caldera is considered an active volcano.

A caldera is a large cauldron-like depression that forms following the evacuation of a magma chamber/reservoir.


It has erupted with tremendous force several times in the last two million years.


Half of the world's geothermal features are in Yellowstone, fueled by this ongoing volcanism.


Lava flows and rocks from volcanic eruptions cover most of the land area of Yellowstone.


The park is the centerpiece of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, the largest remaining nearly-intact ecosystem in the Earth's northern temperate zone.

The Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem is one of the last remaining large, nearly intact ecosystems in the northern temperate zone of the Earth.


Hundreds of species of mammals, birds, fish and reptiles have been documented, including several that are either endangered or threatened.

Mammals are any vertebrates within the class Mammalia, a clade of endothermic amniotes distinguished from reptiles and birds by the possession of a neocortex, hair, three middle ear bones and mammary glands.

Reptiles are tetrapod animals in the class Reptilia, comprising today's turtles, crocodilians, snakes, amphisbaenians, lizards, tuatara, and their extinct relatives.

In biology, a species is one of the basic units of biological classification and a taxonomic rank.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Red Sea
the Priesthood
Town Hall Meeting
Political Correctness
Classified Information
Special Prosecutor
Charlie Strong