the Western Conference


The Western Conference of the National Basketball Association is made up of 15 teams, and organized into three divisions of five teams each.

The National Basketball Association is the pre-eminent men's professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world.

Basketball is a sport, generally played by two teams of five players on a rectangular court.

Sounds of the Western Conference Playoff Teams by NBA


Since 2006, the three division winners and the non-division winner with the best record are seeded 1 through 4 for the playoffs in order of their record, with all remaining non-division winners seeded 5 through 8. This leaves open the possibility that a #2 or #3 seed could be a non-division winner.

Top 10 Hits of the Western Conference by NHL


Home-court advantage in a playoff series is decided by record, not by seeding, so if a #4 and #5 team met in a playoff series in which the #5 team had the better record, the #5 team would have home-court advantage.


The reasoning behind this seeding arrangement is that a non-division winner could have a better record than the winners of the two divisions other than the one that produced the non-division winner in question.


If the three division winners were seeded 1 through 3 for the playoffs in order of their record, and all non-division winners seeded 4 through 8, it would be possible for the two leading teams of the conference to meet in the Conference Semifinals.


This actually happened in the 2006 NBA Playoffs when the two best teams in the Western Conference, the San Antonio Spurs and the Dallas Mavericks, both from the Southwest Division, faced one another in the Western Conference Semifinals while the 3rd seed, the Northwest Division-leading Denver Nuggets, had fewer wins than the 4th, 5th, 6th, and 7th seeds.

The National Basketball Association playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament among 16 teams in the Eastern Conference and Western Conference, ultimately deciding the league's season champion in the NBA Finals.

San Antonio, officially the City of San Antonio, is the seventh-most populated city in the United States and the second-most populated city in the state of Texas, with a population of 1,409,019.

Dallas is a major city in the state of Texas and is the largest urban center of the fourth most populous metropolitan area in the United States.


The NBA proposed and approved of the current format to ensure that the best two teams of a conference can meet no earlier than the NBA Conference Finals.


The Western Conference playoffs is divided into two playoffs rounds, and the NBA Conference Finals with the winner of the Conference Championship facing the Eastern Conference champion in the NBA Finals to determine the champion.


All playoff series are best-of-seven.


The current divisional alignment was adopted at the start of the 2004–05 season, when the now Charlotte Hornets began play as the NBA's 30th franchise.


This necessitated the move of the New Orleans Pelicans from the Eastern Conference's Central Division to the newly created Southwest Division of the Western Conference.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
President's Park
Jon Huntsman Jr.
New York City
Elizabeth Warren
Chuck Schumer