the Washington Nationals


The Washington Nationals are a professional baseball team based in Washington, D.C. The Nationals compete in Major League Baseball as a member club of the National League East division.

The National League of Professional Baseball Clubs, known simply as the National League, is the older of two leagues constituting Major League Baseball in the United States and Canada, and the world's oldest current professional team sports league.

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as "Washington", "the District", or simply "D.C.", is the capital of the United States.

Major League Baseball is a professional baseball organization, the oldest of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada.

Washington Nationals: Funny Baseball Bloopers by Adam J Duncan


From 2005 to 2007, the team played in RFK Stadium; since 2008 their home stadium has been Nationals Park on South Capitol Street in Southeast D.C., near the Anacostia River.

Nationals Park is a baseball park located along the Anacostia River in the Navy Yard neighborhood of Washington, D.C. It is the home ballpark for the Washington Nationals, the city's Major League Baseball franchise.

South Capitol Street is a major street dividing the southeast and southwest quadrants of Washington, D.C., in the United States.

A Brutal Presidential Race (On The Baseball Field) by Wall Street Journal


The Nationals are the fourth major league franchise to be based in Washington, D.C., and the first since 1971.


The original Washington Senators, who were often referred to as the Nationals, played in the National League from 1891 to 1899.


They were followed by a second Washington Senators franchise in 1901, a charter member of the new American League, who were officially named the Washington Nationals from 1905 to 1956.


The second Senators franchise moved to Minnesota in 1961 and became the Minnesota Twins.


They were replaced that season by a third Senators franchise, who eventually moved to Arlington, Texas, after the 1971 season and became the Texas Rangers.

Arlington is a principal city in the U.S. state of Texas, located in Tarrant County.


The current National League club was founded in 1969 as the Montreal Expos, part of the MLB expansion, which included the Seattle Pilots, Kansas City Royals, and San Diego Padres.

The American professional baseball team now known as the Milwaukee Brewers spent their first season, 1969, as the Seattle Pilots in Seattle, Washington.

Montreal officially Montréal in both Canadian English and French, is the most populous city in Quebec and the 2nd-most populous municipality in Canada.


Based in Montreal, the Expos were the first Major League team in Canada.


Home games were played at Jarry Park Stadium and later in Olympic Stadium.

Jarry Park Stadium is a former baseball stadium in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, which served as home to the Montreal Expos, Major League Baseball's first Canadian franchise, from 1969 to 1976.

Jarry Park is an urban park in the Villeray neighbourhood of Montreal.


During the strike-shortened 1981 season, the Expos won a division championship and made their only post-season appearance in Montreal, defeating the Philadelphia Phillies, 3–2, in the National League Division Series, but losing to the Los Angeles Dodgers, 3–2, in the National League Championship Series.

In Major League Baseball, the National League Division Series determines which two teams from the National League will advance to the National League Championship Series.


The franchise had its highest winning percentage in the strike-shortened season of 1994, when the team had the best record in baseball.


The team's subsequent shedding of players caused fan interest to drop off, and after the 2001 season, MLB considered revoking the team's franchise, along with either the Minnesota Twins or the Tampa Bay Devil Rays.


After being purchased by MLB in 2002, the team was moved before the 2005 season to Washington, D.C., and renamed the Nationals, the first franchise relocation in Major League Baseball since the third Washington Senators moved to Texas in 1971.


While the team initially struggled after moving to Washington, the Nationals have experienced moderate success in recent years, winning division titles in 2012, 2014, and 2016.


Two of the team's first overall picks in the MLB Draft, Stephen Strasburg in 2009 and Bryce Harper in 2010, attracted new levels of attention to the team.

Bryce Aron Max Harper is an American professional baseball right fielder for the Washington Nationals of Major League Baseball.


At the time of his selection, Strasburg was called the "most-hyped pick in draft history," and Harper later became the youngest position player to be selected to the MLB All-Star Game.


Including their time in Montreal, the Nationals are one of two franchises, and the only one in the National League, never to have won a league pennant and played in a World Series, along with the Seattle Mariners of the American League.

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball in North America, contested since 1903 between the American League champion team and the National League champion team.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Arthur Blank
Kelsea Ballerini
the National League
Government of Australia
Cancer Research
Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Mixtures