9 Facts About the United States Geological Survey


The United States Geological Survey is a scientific agency of the United States government.

The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a federal republic composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions.

USGS Caught Deleting Yellowstone Seismic Events, Hiding ... by DAHBOO77


The scientists of the USGS study the landscape of the United States, its natural resources, and the natural hazards that threaten it.

A landscape is the visible features of an area of land, its landforms and how they integrate with natural or man-made features.

A scientist is a person engaging in a systematic activity to acquire knowledge that describes and predicts the natural world.

A natural hazard is a natural phenomenon that might have a negative effect on people or the environment.

Living Rock (USGS) - edited CC by Phil Farquharson


The organization has four major science disciplines, concerning biology, geography, geology, and hydrology.

Hydrology is the scientific study of the movement, distribution, and quality of water on Earth and other planets, including the water cycle, water resources and environmental watershed sustainability.

Biology is a natural science concerned with the study of life and living organisms, including their structure, function, growth, evolution, distribution, identification and taxonomy.

Science is a systematic enterprise that builds and organizes knowledge in the form of testable explanations and predictions about the universe.


The USGS is a fact-finding research organization with no regulatory responsibility.


The USGS is a bureau of the United States Department of the Interior; it is that department's sole scientific agency.

The United States Department of the Interior is the United States federal executive department of the U.S. government responsible for the management and conservation of most federal land and natural resources, and the administration of programs relating to Native American, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, territorial affairs, and insular areas of the United States.


The USGS employs approximately 8,670 people and is headquartered in Reston, Virginia.


The USGS also has major offices near Lakewood, Colorado, at the Denver Federal Center, and Menlo Park, California.

Denver Federal Center, surrounded by Lakewood, Colorado, is part of the General Services Administration and is home to about 6,200 employees for many Federal government of the United States agencies.

Colorado is a state in the United States encompassing most of the Southern Rocky Mountains as well as the northeastern portion of the Colorado Plateau and the western edge of the Great Plains.

California is the most populous state in the United States and the third most extensive by area.


The current motto of the USGS, in use since August 1997, is "Science for a changing World."


The agency's previous slogan, adopted on the occasion of its hundredth anniversary, was "Earth Science in the Public Service."

18 Facts About Sheffield
4 Facts About Birthdays
5 Facts About Lists of Foods
13 Facts About Selena Gomez
12 Facts About Joe Greene
3 Facts About Taya Kyle
16 Facts About Steel
5 Facts About Yellow Journalism
18 Facts About the National Football League Draft
12 Facts About the Maryland Terrapins
17 Facts About the Culture of the United States
6 Facts About Radio Personalities
13 Facts About NASCO