United States Department of the Treasury


The Department of the Treasury is an executive department and the treasury of the United States federal government.

U.S. Government - Department of Treasury - History of the Banking System - Educational Film - 1999 by Tube Outpost


Established by an Act of Congress in 1789 to manage government revenue, the Treasury prints all paper currency and mints all coins in circulation through the Bureau of Engraving and Printing and the United States Mint, respectively; collects all federal taxes through the Internal Revenue Service; manages U.S. government debt instruments; licenses and supervises banks and thrift institutions; and advises the legislative and executive branches on matters of fiscal policy.

The Bureau of Engraving and Printing is a government agency within the United States Department of the Treasury that designs and produces a variety of security products for the United States government, most notable of which is Federal Reserve Notes for the Federal Reserve, the nation's central bank.

The economic policy of governments covers the systems for setting levels of taxation, government budgets, the money supply and interest rates as well as the labour market, national ownership, and many other areas of government interventions into the economy.

The United States Mint is a unit of the Department of the Treasury responsible for producing coinage for the United States to conduct its trade and commerce, as well as controlling the movement of bullion.

China a ‘currency manipulator’ – US Treasury by RT America


The Department is administered by the Secretary of the Treasury, who is a member of the Cabinet.

The Secretary of the Treasury is the head of the U.S. Department of the Treasury which is concerned with financial and monetary matters, and, until 2003, also included several federal law enforcement agencies.


The Treasurer of the United States has few statutory duties, but advises the Secretary on various matters such as coinage and currency production.

The Treasurer of the United States is an official in the United States Department of the Treasury who was originally charged with the receipt and custody of government funds, though many of these functions have been taken over by different bureaus of the Department.


Signatures of both officials appear on all Federal Reserve notes.

Federal Reserve Notes, also United States banknotes or U.S. banknotes, are the banknotes currently used in the United States of America.


The first Secretary of the Treasury was Alexander Hamilton, sworn into office on September 11, 1789.

Alexander Hamilton was an American statesman and one of the Founding Fathers of the United States.


Hamilton was appointed by President George Washington on the recommendation of Robert Morris, Washington's first choice for the position, who had declined the appointment.


Hamilton established—almost singlehandedly—the nation's early financial system and for several years was a major presence in Washington's administration.


His portrait appears on the obverse of the ten-dollar bill, while the Treasury Department building is depicted on the reverse.


The current Secretary of the Treasury is Steven Mnuchin, who was confirmed by the United States Senate on February 13, 2017.

The United States Senate is the upper chamber of the United States Congress which, along with the United States House of Representatives, the lower chamber, composes the legislature of the United States of America.

Steven Terner Mnuchin is an American investment banker and civil servant who is serving as the 77th United States secretary of the treasury as part of the Cabinet of Donald Trump.


Jovita Carranza, appointed on April 28, 2017, was the incumbent treasurer, until January 15, 2020, when she left the office.

Jovita Carranza is an American politician of the Republican Party who is serving as the Administrator of the Small Business Administration since 2020.


It is currently vacant.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Kurdish Languages
the National Endowment for the Arts
Environmental Policy
the Menorah