the United States Attorney General


The United States Attorney General is the head of the United States Department of Justice per 28 U.S.C. § 503, concerned with legal affairs, and is the chief law enforcement officer and chief lawyer of the United States government.

The United States Department of Justice, also known as the Justice Department, is a federal executive department of the U.S. government, responsible for the enforcement of the law and administration of justice in the United States, equivalent to the justice or interior ministries of other countries.

President Obama Nominates Loretta Lynch for Attorney General by The White House


The attorney general serves as a member of the cabinet of the President of the United States and is the only cabinet officer who does not have the title of secretary.

A president is the leader of a country or a division or part of a country, typically a republic, a democracy, or a dictatorship.


The Attorney General is appointed by the President and takes office after confirmation by the United States Senate.

The United States Senate is a legislative chamber in the bicameral legislature of the United States, and together with the House of Representatives makes up the U.S. Congress.

A senate is a deliberative assembly, often the upper house or chamber of a bicameral legislature or parliament.


He or she serves at the pleasure of the president and can be removed by the president at any time; the attorney general is also subject to impeachment by the House of Representatives and trial in the Senate for "treason, bribery, and other high crimes and misdemeanors".


The office of Attorney General was established by Congress by the Judiciary Act of 1789.

The Judiciary Act of 1789 was a United States federal statute adopted on September 24, 1789, in the first session of the First United States Congress.


The original duties of this officer were "to prosecute and conduct all suits in the Supreme Court in which the United States shall be concerned, and to give his advice and opinion upon questions of law when required by the president of the United States, or when requested by the heads of any of the departments."

In law, a question of law, also known as a point of law, is a question that must be answered by applying relevant legal principles to interpretation of the law.


Only in 1870 was the Department of Justice established to support the attorney general in the discharge of their responsibilities.


The Attorney General, the Secretary of State, the Secretary of the Treasury, and the Secretary of Defense are generally regarded as the four most important cabinet officials because of the importance of their departments.


The current Attorney General, Loretta Lynch was nominated by President Obama after serving as the United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York.

The United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York is the chief federal law enforcement officer in five New York counties: Kings, Queens, Richmond, Nassau and Suffolk.

Loretta Elizabeth Lynch is the 83rd and current Attorney General of the United States, having previously served as United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York.


She was confirmed by the Senate on April 23, 2015 and sworn in by Vice President Biden on April 27, 2015.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
SoftBank Group
Providence, Rhode Island
Shannon Sharpe
Elvis Presley
Charleston, South Carolina