Southern California


Southern California, often abbreviated to SoCal, is a geographic and cultural region that generally comprises California's southernmost 10 counties.

BASTILLE // Southern California by BASTILLEvideos


The region is traditionally described as "eight counties", based on demographics and economic ties: Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, and Ventura.

San Diego is a major city in California, in San Diego County, on the coast of the Pacific Ocean in Southern California, approximately 120 miles south of Los Angeles and immediately adjacent to the border with Mexico.

California State University, Los Angeles is a public comprehensive university in the heart of Los Angeles, one of the 23 universities in the California State University system.

San Diego State University is a public research university in San Diego, California, and is the largest and oldest higher education institution in San Diego County.

Gaby Borromeo, Southern California (Official Music Video). by Gaby B


The more extensive 10-county definition, including Kern and San Luis Obispo counties, is also used based on historical political divisions.

California Polytechnic State University or California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, also known as Cal Poly San Luis Obispo or Cal Poly, is a public university located in San Luis Obispo, California, United States.

San Luis Obispo is a city in the U.S. state of California, located roughly midway between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the Central Coast.


Southern California is a major economic center for the state of California and the United States.


The 8- and 10-county definitions are not used for the greater Southern California Megaregion, one of the 11 megaregions of the United States.

Megaregions of the United States are clustered networks of American cities, the population of which currently ranges or is projected to range from about 57 to 63 million by the year 2025.


The megaregion's area is more expansive, extending east into Las Vegas, Nevada, and south across the Mexican border into Tijuana.

Las Vegas, officially the City of Las Vegas and often known as simply Vegas, is a city in the United States, the most populous city in the state of Nevada, the county seat of Clark County, and the city proper of the Las Vegas Valley.

Tijuana is the largest city in Baja California and on the Baja California Peninsula and center of the Tijuana metropolitan area, part of the international San Diego–Tijuana metropolitan area.

Mexico, officially the United Mexican States, is a federal republic in the southern half of North America.


Southern California includes the heavily built-up urban area stretching along the Pacific coast from Ventura, through the Greater Los Angeles Area and the Inland Empire, and down to Greater San Diego.

The Greater Los Angeles Area is the second-largest urban region in the United States, encompassing five counties in Southern California, extending from Ventura County in the west to San Bernardino County and Riverside County on the east, with Los Angeles County in the center and Orange County to the south.


Southern California's population encompasses seven metropolitan areas, or MSAs: the Los Angeles metropolitan area, consisting of Los Angeles and Orange counties; the Inland Empire, consisting of Riverside and San Bernardino counties; the San Diego metropolitan area; the Oxnard–Thousand Oaks–Ventura metropolitan area; the Santa Barbara metro area; the San Luis Obispo metropolitan area; and the El Centro area.

El Centro is a city in and county seat of Imperial County, the largest city in the Imperial Valley, east anchor of the Southern California Border Region, and the core urban area and principal city of the El Centro metropolitan area which encompasses all of Imperial County.

A metropolitan area, sometimes referred to as a metro area or just metro, is a region consisting of a densely populated urban core and its less-populated surrounding territories, sharing industry, infrastructure, and housing.


Out of these, three are heavy populated areas: the Los Angeles area with over 12 million inhabitants, the Riverside-San Bernardino area with over 4 million inhabitants, and the San Diego area with over 3 million inhabitants.


For CSA metropolitan purposes, the five counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, and Ventura are all combined to make up the Greater Los Angeles Area with over 17.5 million people.


With over 22 million people, southern California contains roughly 60 percent of California's population.


To the east is the Colorado Desert and the Colorado River at the border with Arizona, and the Mojave Desert at the border with the state of Nevada.

The Mojave Desert is a rain-shadow arid desert area that occupies a significant portion of southeastern California and smaller parts of central California, southern Nevada, southwestern Utah and northwestern Arizona in the United States.


To the south is the Mexico–United States border.

The Mexico–United States border is an international boundary running from Tijuana, Baja California, and Imperial Beach, California, in the west to Matamoros, Tamaulipas, and Brownsville, Texas, in the east.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Narendra Modi
Valerie Jarrett
Political Action Committees
the Arkansas Delta
Hasan Minhaj