9 Facts About the Red Sea


The Red Sea is a seawater inlet of the Indian Ocean, lying between Africa and Asia.

Asia is Earth's largest and most populous continent, located primarily in the eastern and northern hemispheres and sharing the continental landmass of Eurasia with the continent of Europe.

An inlet is an indentation of a shoreline, usually long and narrow, such as a small bay or arm, that often leads to an enclosed body of salt water, such as a sound, bay, lagoon, or marsh.

The Indian Ocean is the third largest of the world's oceanic divisions, covering 70,560,000 km2.

The Red Sea Views - 4K Ultra HD. Egypt. Trailer by 4K Relaxation Channel


The connection to the ocean is in the south through the Bab el Mandeb strait and the Gulf of Aden.

The Gulf of Aden, also known as the Gulf of Berbera, is a gulf located in the Arabian Sea between Yemen, on the south coast of the Arabian Peninsula, and Djibouti, and Somalia in the Horn of Africa.

The Bab-el-Mandeb is a strait located between Yemen on the Arabian Peninsula, and Djibouti and Eritrea in the Horn of Africa.

Revealing God's Treasure - Red Sea Crossing by ArkDiscovery-com


To the north lie the Sinai Peninsula, the Gulf of Aqaba, and the Gulf of Suez.

Suez is a seaport city in north-eastern Egypt, located on the north coast of the Gulf of Suez, near the southern terminus of the Suez Canal, having the same boundaries as Suez governorate.

The Gulf of Aqaba or Gulf of Eilat is a large gulf at the northern tip of the Red Sea, east of the Sinai Peninsula and west of the Arabian mainland.

The Sinai Peninsula or simply Sinai is a peninsula in Egypt, and the only part of the country located in Asia.


The Red Sea is a Global 200 ecoregion.

An ecoregion is an ecologically and geographically defined area that is smaller than a bioregion, which in turn is smaller than an ecozone.


The sea is underlain by the Red Sea Rift which is part of the Great Rift Valley.

The Red Sea Rift is a spreading center between two tectonic plates, the African Plate and the Arabian Plate.


The Red Sea has a surface area of roughly 438,000 km2, is about 2250 km long and, at its widest point, 355 km wide.


It has a maximum depth of 3,040 m in the central Suakin Trough, and an average depth of 490 m. However, there are also extensive shallow shelves, noted for their marine life and corals.

Suakin or Sawakin is a port city in northeastern Sudan, on the west coast of the Red Sea, it was formerly the region's chief port, but is now secondary to Port Sudan, about 50 kilometres north.

Corals are marine invertebrates in the class Anthozoa of phylum Cnidaria.


The sea is the habitat of over 1,000 invertebrate species, and 200 soft and hard corals.

Invertebrates are animals that neither possess nor develop a vertebral column, derived from the notochord.


It is the world's northernmost tropical sea.

6 Facts About London
20 Facts About 1900 Galveston Hurricane
6 Facts About We Bare Bears
3 Facts About Bob Ross
10 Facts About Tsunami
5 Facts About AFI's 100 Years...100 Movie Quotes
8 Facts About Conway, Arkansas
9 Facts About Television Program
3 Facts About Laurie Hernandez
20 Facts About the Czech Republic