17 Facts About Priesthood


The ministerial orders of the Roman Catholic Church are those of bishop, presbyter, and deacon.

Presbyter in the New Testament refers to a leader in local Christian congregations, with presbyter being from the Greek "presbyteros" and meaning elder/senior and episkopos meaning overseer, referring exclusively to the office of bishop, but with presbyteros being understood by many as referring to the same person functioning as overseer.

Deacon is a ministry in Christian Churches that is generally associated with service of some kind, but which varies among theological and denominational traditions.

The Catholic Church, also known as the Roman Catholic Church, is the largest Christian church, with more than 1.27 billion members worldwide.

DC PRIEST: Ordination to the Priesthood by WashArchdiocese


The ordained priesthood and the common priesthood are different in function and essence.

A priest or priestess, is a person authorized to perform the sacred rituals of a religion, especially as a mediatory agent between humans and one or more deities.

Priesthood by Christopher Stefanick


The Catholic Church teaches that when a man participates in priesthood, he participates in the priesthood of Christ Himself.

Jesus, also referred to as Jesus of Nazareth or Jesus Christ, was a Jewish preacher and religious leader who has become the central figure of Christianity.


All men who, through the Sacrament of Holy Orders, have become priests participate in Christ's priesthood; they act in persona Christi Capitis, in the person of Christ, the Head of His Body, the Church.

In persona Christi is a Latin phrase meaning β€œin the person of Christ,” an important concept in Roman Catholicism and, in varying degrees, to other Christian traditions.

Ordination is the process by which individuals are consecrated, that is, set apart as clergy to perform various religious rites and ceremonies.

A sacrament is a Christian rite recognised as of particular importance and significance.


Unlike usage in English, "the Latin words sacerdos and sacerdotium are used to refer in general to the ministerial priesthood shared by bishops and presbyters.

Sacerdotalism is the belief that propitiatory sacrifices for sin require the intervention of a priest.


The words presbyter, presbyterium and presbyteratus refer to priests in the English use of the word or presbyters."


In late 2008, there were 409,166 Catholic priests of the Latin Church and the Eastern Catholic Churches worldwide.

The Eastern Catholic Churches, also historically known as the Eastern-rite Catholic Churches or Uniate Churches, are 23 Eastern Christian particular churches sui iuris in full communion with the Pope in Rome, which make up the Catholic Church together with the Latin Church.

Eastern Christianity consists of four main church families: the Eastern Orthodox Church, the Oriental Orthodox Churches, and the Assyrian Church of the East, as well as the Eastern Catholic Churches.

The Latin Church, sometimes called the Western Church, is the largest autonomous particular church sui iuris within the Catholic Church.


A priest of the regular clergy is commonly addressed with the title "Father", abbreviated Fr.

Regular clergy, or just regulars, is applied in the Roman Catholic Church to clerics who follow a "rule" in their life, those who are members of religious institutes.


, in the Roman Catholic and some other Christian churches.

A Christian is a person who adheres to Christianity, an Abrahamic, monotheistic religion based on the life and teachings of Jesus Christ.


Being a priest will take a lot of commitment.


Men who are willing to be a priest have to go through 7 years of training and gaining lots of experience in the 'seminary'.

A seminary, theological seminary, theological college or divinity school is an educational institution for educating students in theology, generally to prepare them for ordination as clergy or for other ministry.


The state of consecrated life or monasticism is a separate, third distinct vocational state from the clergy and the laity.

Consecrated life, in the canonical sense defined by the Catholic Church, is a stable form of Christian living by those faithful who feel called to follow Jesus Christ in a more exacting way recognized by the Church.

Monasticism or monkhood is a religious way of life in which one renounces worldly pursuits to devote oneself fully to spiritual work.


As an overview, there are the members of the laity- who are married or unmarried, and the clergy- the bishops, priests, and deacons.


Deacons are male and usually belong to the diocesan clergy, but, unlike almost all Latin-rite priests and all bishops from Eastern or Western Catholicism, they may marry as laymen before their ordination as clergy.


Members of institutes of consecrated life, or monks, can be either clergy or non-ordained members of the religious order.

A monk is a person who practices religious asceticism, living either alone or with any number of other monks.


The male members of religious orders, whether living in monastic communities or cloistered in isolation, and who are ordained priests or deacons constitute what is called the religious or regular clergy, distinct from the diocesan or secular clergy.


Those ordained priests or deacons who are not members of some sort of religious order most often serve as clergy to a specific church or in an office of a specific diocese or in Rome.

4 Facts About Condensation
11 Facts About Collection
10 Facts About the Legend of Zelda
3 Facts About History of Facebook
8 Facts About Nerve Tract
18 Facts About Korea
13 Facts About Urban Design
6 Facts About Money Laundering
17 Facts About the Federal Reserve System
10 Facts About the Supreme Court of India
7 Facts About Civil Society
4 Facts About the Governor of Wisconsin
17 Facts About the Union