the President of Ukraine


The president of Ukraine is the Ukrainian head of state.

A head of state or Chief of State is the highest-ranking position in a sovereign state and is vested with powers to act as the chief public representative of that state.

President of Ukraine: Putin is a liar by Fox Business


The president represents the nation in international relations, administers the foreign political activity of the state, conducts negotiations and concludes international treaties.

President Trump Meets with President Petro Poroshenko of Ukraine by The White House


The president is directly elected by the citizens of Ukraine for a five-year term of office, limited to two terms consecutively.


The president's official residence is the Mariyinsky Palace, located in the Pechersk district of the capital Kiev.

Mariyinsky Palace is the official ceremonial residence of the President of Ukraine in Kiev and adjoins the neo-classical building of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine.

Kiev or Kyiv is the capital and largest city of Ukraine, located in the north central part of the country on the Dnieper River.


Other official residences include the House with Chimaeras and the House of the Weeping Widow, which are used for official visits by foreign representatives.

House with Chimaeras or Horodecki House is an Art Nouveau building located in the historic Lypky neighborhood of Kiev, the capital of Ukraine.

The House of the Weeping Widow is an architectural landmark in the city of Kiev, capital of Ukraine, located at 23 Lyuteranska Street.


The Presidential Administration of Ukraine, unofficially known as "Bankova" in reference to the street it is located on, serves as the presidential administration, advising the president in the domestic, foreign and legal matters.

The Presidential Administration or unofficially Bankova is an administrative body set up to assist the President of Ukraine.


Since the office's establishment on 5 July 1991, there have been five presidents of Ukraine.


Leonid Kravchuk was the inaugural president, serving three years from 1991 until his resignation in 1994.

Leonid Makarovych Kravchuk is a former Ukrainian politician and the first President of Ukraine, who served from 5 December 1991, until his resignation on 19 July 1994.


Leonid Kuchma was the only president to have served two consecutive terms in office.

Leonid Danylovych Kuchma is a Ukrainian politician who was the second President of independent Ukraine from 19 July 1994 to 23 January 2005.


Both Viktor Yushchenko and Viktor Yanukovych served one term, with the latter being replaced by acting president Oleksandr Turchynov, who then also served as Chairman of the Ukrainian Parliament, on 21 February 2014.

An acting president is a person who temporarily fills the role of an organization's or country's president when the substantive president is unavailable or when the post is vacant.

Viktor Fedorovych Yanukovych is a Ukrainian politician who served as the fourth President of Ukraine from February 2010 until his removal from power in February 2014.

Viktor Andriyovych Yushchenko is a Ukrainian politician who was the third President of Ukraine from January 23, 2005 to February 25, 2010.


Oleksandr Turchynov was the only acting president in Ukraine's modern history.


Unlike in the US, where the vice president immediately receives all powers of the presidency upon assumption of the presidential office, in Ukraine the powers of an acting president are severely limited.


On 18 June 2015, Yanukovych was officially deprived of the title of president of Ukraine.


The current president is Petro Poroshenko who took the oath of office on 7 June 2014.

An oath of office is an oath or affirmation a person takes before undertaking the duties of an office, usually a position in government or within a religious body, although such oaths are sometimes required of officers of other organizations.

Traditionally an oath is either a statement of fact or a promise with wording relating to something considered sacred as a sign of verity.


The Government of Ukraine utilizes a Semi-presidential system in which the roles of the head of state and head of government are separate, thus the president of Ukraine is not the nation's head of government.

Head of government is a generic term used for either the highest or second highest official in the executive branch of a sovereign state, a federated state, or a self-governing colony who often presides over a cabinet.

A semi-presidential system is a system of government in which a president exists alongside a prime minister and a cabinet, with the latter two being responsible to the legislature of a state.

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, commonly referred to as the Government of Ukraine, is the highest body of state executive power in Ukraine.


The prime minister serves as the head of government, a role currently filled by Volodymyr Groysman who was appointed to the position in April 2016.

Volodymyr Borysovych Groysman, sometimes transliterated as Volodymyr Borysovych Hroisman, is a Ukrainian politician who has been the Prime Minister of Ukraine since 14 April 2016.

Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
the Tropicana Las Vegas
NFL Playoffs
District Attorney
Germantown, Philadelphia
the Order of Friendship
Eugene Cernan
Medical Evacuation