8 Facts About the Philadelphia 76ers


The Philadelphia 76ers are an American professional basketball team based in the Philadelphia metropolitan area.

Philadelphia is the largest city in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the sixth-most populous city in the United States, with an estimated population of 1,567,872 and more than 6 million in the seventh-largest metropolitan statistical area, as of 2016.

Basketball is a sport, generally played by two teams of five players on a rectangular court.

The Philadelphia 76ers - A History by Hal15Greer


The 76ers compete in the National Basketball Association as a member of the league's Eastern Conference Atlantic Division.

The National Basketball Association is the pre-eminent men's professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world.

Philadelphia 76ers vs Miami Heat | Full Game Highlights | October 21, 2016 | 2016-17 NBA Preseason by NBA Conference


Founded in 1946 and originally known as the Syracuse Nationals, they are one of the oldest franchises in the NBA, and one of only eight to survive the league's first decade.


The 76ers have had a rich history, with many of the greatest players in NBA history having played for the organization, including Wilt Chamberlain, Hal Greer, Billy Cunningham, Julius Erving, Moses Malone, Charles Barkley, and Allen Iverson.

Julius Winfield Erving II, commonly known by the nickname Dr. J, is an American retired basketball player who helped popularize a modern style of play that emphasizes leaping and playing above the rim.

Moses Eugene Malone was an American basketball player who played in both the American Basketball Association and the National Basketball Association from 1974 through 1995.

Charles Wade Barkley is an American retired professional basketball player and current analyst on the television program Inside the NBA.


They have won three NBA championships, with their first coming as the Syracuse Nationals in 1955.


The second title came in the 1966–67 season, a team which was led by Chamberlain.


The third title came in the 1982–83 season, won by a team led by Erving and Malone.


The 76ers have only been back to the NBA Finals once since then: in 2001, when they lost to the Los Angeles Lakers 4 games to 1.

The NBA Finals is the championship series of the National Basketball Association played between the Western and Eastern champions of the Conference Finals.

13 Facts About the Effects of Hurricane Andrew in Florida
6 Facts About the Jesus Bloodline
9 Facts About Blood Transfusions
12 Facts About Sports in Boston
14 Facts About the Portland Trail Blazers
11 Facts About the Oklahoma City Thunder
20 Facts About Divide and Rule
9 Facts About the Smithsonian Institution
4 Facts About Vocational Schools
12 Facts About Daylight Saving Time
9 Facts About Jordan Spieth
4 Facts About Civil Liberties
10 Facts About Animals