the Oklahoma City Thunder


The Oklahoma City Thunder is an American professional basketball team based in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Oklahoma City, often shortened to OKC, is the capital and largest city of the U.S. state of Oklahoma.

Oklahoma is a state located in the South Central United States.

Oklahoma City Thunder vs Milwaukee Bucks - Full Highlights | April 10, 2019 | 2018-19 NBA Season by House of Highlights


The Thunder competes in the National Basketball Association as a member of the league's Western Conference Northwest Division.

The National Basketball Association is the pre-eminent men's professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world.

Russell Westbrook, Paul George lead Thunder past Timberwolves | NBA Highlights by ESPN


The team plays its home games at Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Chesapeake Energy Arena, originally known as the Ford Center from 2002 to 2010 and Oklahoma City Arena until 2011, is an arena located in Downtown Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States.


The Thunder's NBA G League affiliate is the Oklahoma City Blue, which it owns.

The NBA G League, or simply the G League, is the National Basketball Association's official minor league basketball organization.


The Thunder are the only team in the major professional North American sports leagues based in the state of Oklahoma.


Oklahoma City previously hosted the New Orleans Hornets for two seasons following devastation caused by Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans.


The team was originally established as the Seattle SuperSonics, an expansion team that joined the NBA for the 1967–68 season.

An expansion team is a brand new team in a sports league, usually from a city that has not hosted a team in that league before, formed with the intention of satisfying the demand for a local team from a population in a new area.

Seattle is a seaport city on the west coast of the United States and the seat of King County, Washington.


The SuperSonics moved in 2008 after a settlement was reached between the ownership group led by Clay Bennett and lawmakers in Seattle, Washington following a lawsuit.


In Seattle, the SuperSonics qualified for the NBA playoffs 22 times, won their division six times, and won the 1979 NBA Championship.

The National Basketball Association playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament among 16 teams in the Eastern Conference and Western Conference, ultimately deciding the league's season champion in the NBA Finals.


In Oklahoma City, the Thunder qualified for their first playoff berth during the 2009–10 season.


They won their first division title as the Thunder in the 2010–11 season and their first Western Conference championship as the Thunder in the 2011–12 season, appearing in the NBA Finals for the fourth time in franchise history and first since 1996, when the team was based in Seattle.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
International Women's Day
Black People
Charlottesville, Virginia