11 Facts About Ohio


Ohio is an Eastern state in the Great Lakes region of the United States.

The Great Lakes, also called the Laurentian Great Lakes and the Great Lakes of North America, are a series of interconnected freshwater lakes located primarily in the upper mid-east region of North America, on the Canada–United States border, which connect to the Atlantic Ocean through the Saint Lawrence River.

The Great Lakes region of North America is a bi-national Canadian-American region that includes portions of the eight U.S. states of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin as well as the Canadian province of Ontario.

The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a federal republic composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions.

iExplore! Cleveland, Ohio by Erik The Travel Guy


Ohio is the 34th largest by area, the 7th most populous, and the 10th most densely populated of the 50 United States.

2017 - Cotton Bowl - Ohio State Buckeyes vs USC Trojans in 40 Minutes by rtsportsuploads


The state's capital and largest city is Columbus.


The state takes its name from the Ohio River.

The Ohio River, which streams westward from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, to Cairo, Illinois, is the largest tributary, by volume, of the Mississippi River in the United States.


The name originated from the Iroquois word ohi-yo’, meaning "great river" or "large creek".


Partitioned from the Northwest Territory, the state was admitted to the Union as the 17th state on March 1, 1803.

The post-American Revolutionary War Territory Northwest of the River Ohio, more commonly known as the Northwest Territory encompassing most of the pre-war territory of the Ohio Country, was an organized incorporated territory of the United States spanning most or large parts of six eventual U.S. States.


Ohio is historically known as the "Buckeye State" after its Ohio buckeye trees, and Ohioans are also known as "Buckeyes".


The government of Ohio is composed of the executive branch, led by the Governor; the legislative branch, which comprises the Ohio General Assembly; and the judicial branch, which is led by the state Supreme Court.

A general assembly is a meeting of all the members of an organisation or shareholders of a company.


Ohio occupies 16 seats in the United States House of Representatives.

The United States House of Representatives is the lower chamber of the United States Congress which, along with the Senate, composes the legislature of the United States.


Ohio is known for its status as both a swing state and a bellwether in national elections.

In American politics, the term swing state refers to any state that could reasonably be won by either the Democratic or Republican presidential candidate.

A bellwether is one that leads or indicates trends; a trendsetter.


Six Presidents of the United States have been elected who had Ohio as their home state.

The president is a common title for the head of state in most republics.

8 Facts About Castlevania
6 Facts About Ella Baker
20 Facts About Io
15 Facts About the Birth of a Nation
3 Facts About IMG
8 Facts About the Kinzua Dam
7 Facts About Chappaqua, New York
5 Facts About Carnage
14 Facts About Alexandria, Virginia
8 Facts About the 2016 State of the Union Address
14 Facts About the Roman Republic
20 Facts About Leonid Brezhnev