20 Facts About NBA Most Valuable Player Award


The National Basketball Association Most Valuable Player is an annual National Basketball Association award given since the 1955–56 NBA season to the best performing player of the regular season.

The National Basketball Association is the pre-eminent men's professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men's professional basketball league in the world.

Kevin Durant's Top 10 Plays of the 2013-2014 Season! by NBA


The winner receives the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, which is named in honor of the first NBA commissioner of the NBA who served from 1946 until his retirement in 1963.

Derrick Rose - Fantastic Finisher (Aerial Acrobatics) 15/16 by Evin Gualberto


Until the 1979–80 season, the MVP was selected by a vote of NBA players.


Since the 1980–81 season, the award is decided by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada, each of whom casts a vote for first to fifth place selections.


Each first-place vote is worth 10 points; each second-place vote is worth seven; each third-place vote is worth five, fourth-place is worth three and fifth-place is worth one.


Starting from 2010, one ballot was cast by fans through online voting.


The player with the highest point total wins the award.


As of May 2016, the current holder of the award is Stephen Curry, who won both the 2015 and 2016 MVP Awards.

Wardell Stephen Curry II is an American professional basketball player for the Golden State Warriors of the National Basketball Association.


Every player who has won this award that is eligible for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has been inducted.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an American history museum and hall of fame, located at 1000 Hall of Fame Avenue in Springfield, Massachusetts.


Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won the award a record six times.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar is an American retired professional basketball player who played 20 seasons in the National Basketball Association for the Milwaukee Bucks and the Los Angeles Lakers.


Both Bill Russell and Michael Jordan won the award five times, while Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James won the award four times in their respective careers.

Michael Jeffrey Jordan, also known by his initials, MJ, is an American retired professional basketball player.


Russell and James are the only players to have won the award four times in five seasons.


Moses Malone, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson each won the award three times, while Bob Pettit, Karl Malone, Tim Duncan, Steve Nash and Stephen Curry have each won it twice.

Larry Joe Bird is an American professional basketball executive, former coach and former player, currently serving as president of the Indiana Pacers in the National Basketball Association.

Earvin "Magic" Johnson Jr. is an American retired professional basketball player who played point guard for the Los Angeles Lakers of the National Basketball Association for 13 seasons.

Timothy Theodore Duncan is an American retired professional basketball player who played his entire 19-year career with the San Antonio Spurs of the National Basketball Association.


Only two rookies have won the award: Wilt Chamberlain in the 1959–60 season and Wes Unseld in the 1968–69 season.


Hakeem Olajuwon of Nigeria, Tim Duncan of the U.S. Virgin Islands, Steve Nash of Canada and Dirk Nowitzki of Germany are the only international MVP winners.

The Federal Republic of Nigeria, commonly referred to as Nigeria, is a federal republic in West Africa, bordering Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and n*gg*r in the north.

Hakeem Abdul Olajuwon, formerly known as Akeem Olajuwon, is a Nigerian-American former professional basketball player.


Duncan is an American citizen by birth, but is considered an international player by the NBA.


Of these four players, only Nowitzki was trained totally outside the United States—the other three all played U.S. college basketball.


Stephen Curry in 2015–16 is the only player to have won the award unanimously.


Shaquille O'Neal in 1999–2000 and LeBron James in 2012–13 are the only two players to have fallen one vote shy of a unanimous selection, both receiving 120 of 121 votes.

Shaquille Rashaun O'Neal, nicknamed Shaq, is a retired American professional basketball player and former rapper who is currently an analyst on the television program Inside the NBA.


Since the 1982–83 season, every winner was from a team that won at least 50 games in the regular season that year.

3 Facts About Darren Soto
20 Facts About China
10 Facts About the Houston Astros
10 Facts About Animals
9 Facts About State Courts
7 Facts About Utility Software
18 Facts About Gary Cooper
11 Facts About the World Series
7 Facts About Trump: the Art of the Deal
20 Facts About Climate Change Denial
13 Facts About the American Civil War
14 Facts About the Madman Theory
3 Facts About Spirit Airlines