12 Facts About Nashville, Tennessee


Nashville is the capital of the U.S. state of Tennessee and the county seat of Davidson County.

A county seat is an administrative center, or seat of government, for a county or civil parish.

Nashville, Tennessee by Hoosier Tim's Travel Videos


It is located on the Cumberland River in the north central part of the state.

The Cumberland River is a major waterway of the Southern United States.

Driving Tour of Downtown Nashville Tennessee by appweathervideos


The city is a center for the music, healthcare, publishing, banking and transportation industries, and home to numerous colleges and universities.


Reflecting the city's position in state government, Nashville is home to the Tennessee Supreme Court's courthouse for Middle Tennessee.

Middle Tennessee is a distinct portion of the state of Tennessee, delineated according to state law as the 41 counties in the Middle Grand Division of Tennessee.


It is known as a center of the country music industry, earning it the nickname "Music City, U.S.A."

The music industry consists of the companies and individuals that earn money by creating new songs and pieces and selling live concerts and shows, audio and video recordings, compositions and sheet music, and the organizations and associations that aid and represent creators.

Country music is a genre of United States popular music that originated in the Southern United States in the 1920s.


Since 1963, Nashville has had a consolidated city-county government which includes six smaller municipalities in a two-tier system.

In United States local government, a consolidated city-county is a city and county that have been merged into one unified jurisdiction.


Nashville is governed by a mayor, vice-mayor, and 40-member Metropolitan Council.


Thirty-five of the members are elected from single-member districts; five are elected at-large.

At-large is a designation for members of a governing body who are elected or appointed to represent the whole membership of the body, rather than a subset of that membership.

A single-member district or single-member constituency is an electoral district that returns one officeholder to a body with multiple members such as a legislature.


According to 2015 estimates from the U.S. Census Bureau, the total consolidated city-county population stood at 678,889.

The United States Census Bureau is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.


The "balance" population, which excludes semi-independent municipalities within Nashville, was 654,610.


The 2015 population of the entire 13-county Nashville metropolitan area was 1,830,345, making it the largest metropolitan statistical area in the state.

A metropolitan area, sometimes referred to as a metro area or just metro, is a region consisting of a densely populated urban core and its less-populated surrounding territories, sharing industry, infrastructure, and housing.

In the United States, a metropolitan statistical area is a geographical region with a relatively high population density at its core and close economic ties throughout the area.


The 2015 population of the Nashville-Davidson–Murfreesboro–Columbia combined statistical area, a larger trade area, was 1,951,644.

A combined statistical area is composed of adjacent metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas in the United States and Puerto Rico that can demonstrate economic or social linkage.

8 Facts About Gopi Sundar
3 Facts About Darren Soto
20 Facts About China
10 Facts About the Houston Astros
10 Facts About Animals
9 Facts About State Courts
16 Facts About Audrey Hepburn
4 Facts About the United States Secretary of Labor
7 Facts About the 1974 Super Outbreak
12 Facts About the Central Intelligence Agency
4 Facts About Kam Chancellor
16 Facts About the President of Ukraine
4 Facts About the Catch