Muriel Bowser


Muriel Elizabeth Bowser is an American politician and a member of the Democratic Party currently serving as the eighth Mayor of the District of Columbia.

The Mayor of the District of Columbia is the head of the executive branch of the government of Washington, D.C..

D.C. mayor holds snowstorm briefing by Washington Post


Prior to her inauguration in January 2015, Bowser served as a member of the Council of the District of Columbia, representing Ward 4.


Elected to the Advisory Neighborhood Commission in 2004, Bowser was elected to the Council in a special election in 2007, to succeed Adrian Fenty, who had been elected Mayor.

Advisory Neighborhood Commissions are bodies of local government in Washington, D.C. Created in 1974 through a District referendum in the District of Columbia Home Rule Act, ANCs consider a wide range of policies and programs affecting their neighborhoods, including traffic, parking, recreation, street improvements, liquor licenses, zoning, economic development, police protection, sanitation and trash collection, and the District's annual budget.


She was re-elected in 2008 and 2012 and ran for Mayor in the 2014 election.


She defeated incumbent Mayor Vincent C. Gray in the Democratic primary and won the general election against three Independent and two minor party candidates with 54.53% of the vote.


She is the second woman to be elected Mayor, after Sharon Pratt Kelly.

Sharon Pratt Kelly, formerly Sharon Pratt Dixon and now known as Sharon Pratt, was the third mayor of the District of Columbia from 1991 to 1995.

the Boardwalk at Hersheypark
Account Managers
Saudi Americans
Norma McCorvey
Marshawn Lynch