7 Facts About LTE


In telecommunication, Long-Term Evolution is a standard for high-speed wireless communication for mobile phones and data terminals, based on the GSMUMTS networks and CDMA2000 networks.

GSM, is a standard developed by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute to describe the protocols for second-generation digital cellular networks used by mobile phones, first deployed in Finland in July 1991.

Telecommunication is the transmission of signs, signals, messages, writings, images and sounds or intelligence of any nature by wire, radio, optical or other electromagnetic systems.

Wireless communication is the transfer of information or power between two or more points that are not connected by an electrical conductor.

4G and LTE: Explained! by Marques Brownlee


The different LTE frequencies and bands used in different countries mean that only multi-band phones are able to use LTE in all countries where it is supported.

LTE 101 | AT&T by AT&T


LTE is commonly marketed as 4G LTE, but it does not meet the technical criteria of a 4G wireless service, as specified in the 3GPP Release 8 and 9 document series, for LTE Advanced.

The 3rd Generation Partnership Project is a collaboration between groups of telecommunications associations, known as the Organizational Partners.


The requirements were originally set forth by the ITU-R organization in the IMT Advanced specification.

International Mobile Telecommunications-Advanced are requirements issued by the ITU-R of the International Telecommunication Union in 2008 for what is marketed as 4G mobile phone and Internet access service.

The ITU Radiocommunication Sector is one of the three sectors of the International Telecommunication Union and is responsible for radio communication.


However, due to marketing pressures and the significant advancements that WiMAX, Evolved High Speed Packet Access and LTE bring to the original 3G technologies, ITU later decided that LTE together with the aforementioned technologies can be called 4G technologies.

WiMAX is a family of wireless communication standards based on the IEEE 802.16 set of standards, which provide multiple physical layer and Media Access Control options.

Evolved High Speed Packet Access, or HSPA+, or HSPA, or HSPAP is a technical standard for wireless, broadband telecommunication.


The LTE Advanced standard formally satisfies the ITU-R requirements to be considered IMT-Advanced.


To differentiate LTE Advanced and WiMAX-Advanced from current 4G technologies, ITU has defined them as "True 4G".

4 Facts About Condensation
11 Facts About Collection
10 Facts About the Legend of Zelda
3 Facts About History of Facebook
8 Facts About Nerve Tract
18 Facts About Korea
13 Facts About Urban Design
15 Facts About Major League Soccer
14 Facts About Rockets
16 Facts About Adrian Peterson
9 Facts About Channels
3 Facts About the Civil Rights Cases