20 Facts About List of Governors of Texas


The Governor of Texas is the chief executive of the U.S. State of Texas, the presiding officer over the executive branch of the Government of Texas, and the commander-in-chief of the Texas National Guard, the State's militia.

The government of Texas operates under the Constitution of Texas and consists of a unitary democratic state government operating under a presidential system that uses the Dillon Rule, as well as governments at the county and municipal levels.

A commander-in-chief is the person or body that exercises supreme operational command and control of a nation's military forces or significant elements of those forces.

The executive is the organ exercising authority in and holding responsibility for the governance of a state.

Stunning Number Believes Texas Will Be Invaded By Its Own Country by The Young Turks


The governor has the power to consider bills passed by the Texas Legislature, by signing them into law, or vetoing them, and in bills relating to appropriations, the power of a line-item veto.

The line-item veto, or partial veto, is a special form of veto that authorizes a chief executive to reject particular provisions of a bill enacted by a legislature without vetoing the entire bill.

A veto – Latin for "I forbid" – is the power to unilaterally stop an official action, especially the enactment of legislation.

A legislature is a deliberative assembly with the authority to make laws for a political entity such as a country or city.

Over 20 Governors Reject Syrian Refugees Fleeing ISIS by The Young Turks


He may convene the legislature, and grant pardons and reprieves, except in cases of impeachment, and upon the permission of the legislature, in cases of treason.

Impeachment is the process by which a legislative body formally levels charges against a high official of Government.

In law, treason is the crime that covers some of the more extreme acts against one's nation or sovereign.


The State provides an official residence, the Governor's Mansion in Austin.


The incumbent, Greg Abbott, is the forty-eighth governor, of whom two have been women, to serve in the office since Texas' statehood in 1845.

Gregory Wayne Abbott is an American lawyer and Republican politician who has served as the 48th Governor of Texas since January 2015.


When compared to those of other states, the Governorship of Texas has been described as one of relative weakness.


In some respects, it is the Lieutenant Governor of Texas, who presides over the Texas Senate, who possesses greater influence to exercise their prerogatives.

The Lieutenant Governor of Texas is the second-highest executive office in the government of Texas, a state in the U.S. It is the second most powerful post in Texas government because its occupant controls the work of the Texas Senate and controls the budgeting process as a leader of the Legislative Budget Board.

A lieutenant governor, lieutenant-governor, or vice governor is a high officer of state, whose precise role and rank vary by jurisdiction, but is often the deputy or lieutenant to or ranking under a governor — a "second-in-command".


The governor is inaugurated on the third Tuesday of January every four years along with the Lieutenant Governor, and serves a term of four years.


Prior to the present laws, in 1845, the state's first constitution established the office of governor, serving a term of two years, but no more than four years of every six.


The 1861 constitution, following secession from the Union, established the first Monday of November following election as the term's start.


Following the end of the American Civil War, the 1866 constitution increased term length to four years, limiting overall service to no more than eight years of every twelve, moving the term's start to the first Thursday following organization of the legislature, or "as soon thereafter as practicable."

The American Civil War was a civil war in the United States fought from 1861 to 1865.


The constitution of 1869, enacted during Reconstruction, removed term limitations, to this day making Texas one of fourteen states with no limit on gubernatorial terms.

A term limit is a legal restriction that limits the number of terms an officeholder may serve in a particular elected office.


The present constitution of 1876 returned terms to two years, but a 1972 amendment again returned them to four.


Since its establishment, only one man has served in excess of eight years as governor: Rick Perry.

James Richard "Rick" Perry is an American politician who is the 14th and current United States Secretary of Energy, serving in the Cabinet of Donald Trump.


Perry, the longest-serving governor in state history, assumed the governorship in 2000 upon the exit of George W. Bush, who resigned to take office as the 43rd President of the United States.

George Walker Bush is an American politician who was the 43rd President of the United States from 2001 to 2009 and 46th Governor of Texas from 1995 to 2000.

A president is the leader of a country or a division or part of a country, typically a republic, a democracy, or a dictatorship.


Perry was re-elected in 2002, 2006, and 2010 serving for 14 years before choosing to retire in 2014.


Allan Shivers assumed the governorship upon the death of Beauford Jester in July 1949 and was re-elected in 1950, 1952 and 1954, serving for 7 1/2 years, making him the second longest serving Texas governor.

Robert Allan Shivers was an American politician who led the conservative faction of the Texas Democratic Party during the turbulent 1940s and 1950s.

Beauford Halbert Jester was the 36th Governor of Texas, serving from 1947 until 1949, when he died of a heart attack aboard a train.


Price Daniel was elected to the governorship in 1956 and re-elected in 1958 and 1960 before losing his re-election for an unprecedented fourth term in the 1962 Democratic primary, missing the runoff.

Marion Price Daniel Sr., was a Democratic U.S. Senator and the 38th Governor of the state of Texas.


John Connally was elected in 1962 and re-elected in 1964 and 1966 before choosing to retire in 1968.


In the case of a vacancy in the office, the lieutenant governor becomes governor.

16 Facts About Hurricane Irma
6 Facts About the Nile Delta
7 Facts About Read-Only Memory
7 Facts About Rod Smart
4 Facts About the Flag of the United Arab Emirates
7 Facts About the GPRS Core Network
12 Facts About Helmand Province
8 Facts About Political Parties
7 Facts About Unionism in Ireland
3 Facts About the Pharmaceutical Industry
9 Facts About Fantasy Football
8 Facts About Carrie Fisher