the Liberal Democrats


The Liberal Democrats is a liberal British political party formed in 1988 from a merger of the Liberal Party and the Social Democratic Party, a splinter group from the Labour Party which had formed the SDP–Liberal Alliance from 1981.

The SDP–Liberal Alliance was a centrist political and electoral alliance in the United Kingdom.

Defining the Political Parties: The Liberal Democrats by Scenes of Reason


At the 2010 general election, the Lib Dems led by Nick Clegg won 57 seats, making them the third-largest party in the House of Commons behind the Conservatives with 306 and Labour with 258.

Sir Nicholas William Peter Clegg is a former British politician who served as Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 2010 to 2015 and as Leader of the Liberal Democrats from 2007 to 2015.

Who are the Liberal Democrats? by Liberal Democrats (Australia)


With no party having an overall majority, the party formed a coalition government with the Conservatives, with Clegg becoming Deputy Prime Minister and others taking up ministerial positions.

A coalition government is a cabinet of a parliamentary government in which multiple political parties cooperate, reducing the dominance of any one party within that "coalition".


At the 2015 general election, the Liberal Democrats were reduced to eight MPs and became the fourth largest party in the House of Commons, behind the SNP leading to Nick Clegg's resignation.


At the 2017 general election, the party returned twelve MPs, becoming the third-largest UK-wide party in terms of votes cast.


Sir Vince Cable succeeded Tim Farron as party leader.

Sir John Vincent Cable is a British politician serving as Leader of the Liberal Democrats and Member of Parliament for Twickenham since 2017.

Timothy James "Tim" Farron is a British politician who was the Leader of the Liberal Democrats between July 2015 and July 2017.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
Wedding Anniversary
Russian Passports
Produced Water
the Arctic Ice Pack