Kurdish Languages


Kurdish is a continuum of Northwestern Iranian languages spoken by the Kurds in Western Asia.

The Kurds also the Kurdish people are an ethnic group in the Middle East, mostly inhabiting a contiguous area spanning adjacent parts of eastern and southeastern Turkey, western Iran, northern Iraq, and northern Syria.

The Iranian languages or Iranic languages are a branch of the Indo-Iranian languages, which in turn are a branch of the Indo-European language family.

The Western Iranian languages are a branch of the Iranian languages, attested from the time of Old Persian and Median.

The Kurdish Language by Langfocus


Kurdish forms three dialect groups known as Northern Kurdish, Central Kurdish, and Southern Kurdish.

Northern Kurdish, also called Kurmanji, is a group of Kurdish dialects predominantly spoken in southeast Turkey, northwest Iran, northern Iraq and northern Syria.

Central Kurdish, also called Sorani is a Kurdish language spoken in Iraq, mainly in Iraqi Kurdistan, as well as the Kurdistan Province of western Iran.

Central is an adjective usually referring to being in the center of some place or object.

Learn Kurdish language Kurdisch Lernen (Kurmanji) [آموزِشِ ... by Parhâm Âzari


A separate group of languages, Zaza-Gorani, is also spoken by several million Kurds, but is linguistically not Kurdish.


Recent studies estimate between 20 and 30 million native speakers of Kurdish in total.


The majority of the Kurds speak Kurmanji.


The literary output in Kurdish was mostly confined to poetry until the early 20th century, when more general literature began to be developed.


Today, there are two principal written Kurdish dialects, namely Kurmanji in the northern parts of the geographical region of Kurdistan, and Sorani further east and south.

Kurdistan or Greater Kurdistan, is a roughly defined geo-cultural region wherein the Kurdish people form a prominent majority population, and Kurdish culture, language, and national identity have historically been based.


The standard Sorani form of Central Kurdish is, along with Arabic, one of the two official languages of Iraq and is in political documents simply referred to as Kurdish.

Iraq, officially the Republic of Iraq is a country in Western Asia, bordered by Turkey to the north, Iran to the east, Kuwait to the southeast, Saudi Arabia to the south, Jordan to the southwest, and Syria to the west.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Rockville, Maryland
Nepali Language
1900 Galveston Hurricane
SoftBank Group