International Women's Day


International Women's Day, originally called International Working Women's Day, is celebrated on March 8 every year.

International Women's Day Doodle 2016: #OneDayIWill by googledoodles


It commemorates the movement for women's rights.

Women's rights are the rights and entitlements claimed for women and girls of many societies worldwide, and formed the basis to the women's rights movement in the nineteenth century and feminist movement during the 20th century.

International Women's Day by WatchMojo.com


The earliest Women's Day observance was held on February 28, 1909, in New York and organized by the Socialist Party of America.

The Socialist Party of America was a multi-tendency democratic-socialist and social-democratic political party in the United States, formed in 1901 by a merger between the three-year-old Social Democratic Party of America and disaffected elements of the Socialist Labor Party which had split from the main organization in 1899.


On March 8, 1917, in the capital of the Russian Empire, Petrograd, a demonstration of women textile workers began, covering the whole city.

Russia, also officially known as the Russian Empire, was a state that existed from 1721 until it was overthrown by the short-lived liberal February Revolution in 1917.

Saint Petersburg is Russia's second-largest city after Moscow, with five million inhabitants in 2012, and an important Russian port on the Baltic Sea.


This was the beginning of the Russian Revolution.

The Russian Revolution was a pair of revolutions in Russia in 1917, which dismantled the Tsarist autocracy and led to the eventual rise of the Soviet Union.


Seven days later, the Emperor of Russia Nicholas II abdicated and the provisional Government granted women the right to vote.

Tsar Nicholas II or Nikolai II was the last Emperor of Russia, ruling from 1 November 1894 until his forced abdication on 15 March 1917.

Emperor of All Russia, Empress of All Russia was the title of the ruler of the Russian Empire from 1721 to 1917.

Suffrage, political franchise, or simply franchise is the right to vote in public, political elections.


March 8 was declared a national holiday in Soviet Russia in 1917.

Russia, officially known as the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic and the Russian Federation commonly referred to as Soviet Russia was a sovereign state in 1917–22, the largest, most populous, and most economically developed republic of the Soviet Union in 1922–91 and a sovereign part of the Soviet Union with its own legislation in 1990–91.


The day was predominantly celebrated by the socialist movement and communist countries until it was adopted in 1975 by the United Nations.

The United Nations is an intergovernmental organization to promote international co-operation.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
the Governor of Wisconsin
Gordon Hayward
the United States Congress
Return to Normalcy