the International Criminal Court


The International Criminal Court is an intergovernmental organization and international tribunal that sits in The Hague in the Netherlands.

An intergovernmental organization or international governmental organization is an organization composed primarily of sovereign states, or of other intergovernmental organizations.

The Hague is a city located in the western coast of the Netherlands, and the capital city of the province of South Holland.

The Netherlands is the main constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

How The International Criminal Court Works by Newsy World


The ICC has the jurisdiction to prosecute individuals for the international crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes.

Crimes against humanity are certain acts that are deliberately committed as part of a widespread or systematic attack directed against any civilian population or an identifiable part of a population.

Jurisdiction is the practical authority granted to a legal body to administer justice within a defined area of responsibility, e.g., Michigan tax law.

A war crime is an act that constitutes a serious violation of the law of war that gives rise to individual criminal responsibility.

The Court - Inside the International Criminal Court (1/5) by ouLearn on YouTube


The ICC is intended to complement existing national judicial systems and it may therefore only exercise its jurisdiction when certain conditions are met, such as when national courts are unwilling or unable to prosecute criminals or when the United Nations Security Council or individual states refer investigations to the Court.

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to its United Nations Charter.


The ICC began functioning on 1 July 2002, the date that the Rome Statute entered into force.


The Rome Statute is a multilateral treaty which serves as the ICC's foundational and governing document.


States which become party to the Rome Statute, for example by ratifying it, become member states of the ICC.


Currently, there are 124 states which are party to the Rome Statute and therefore members of the ICC.


However, Burundi, South Africa, and Gambia have given formal notice that they will withdraw from the Rome Statute.

Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.

The Gambia, officially the Islamic Republic of The Gambia, is a country in West Africa mostly surrounded by Senegal with a short strip of its coastline bordered with the Atlantic Ocean at its western end.


The ICC has four principal organs: the Presidency, the Judicial Divisions, the Office of the Prosecutor, and the Registry.


The President is the most senior judge chosen by his or her peers in the Judicial Division, which hears cases before the Court.


The Office of the Prosecutor is headed by the Prosecutor who investigates crimes and initiates proceedings before the Judicial Division.


The Registry is headed by the Registrar and is charged with managing all the administrative functions of the ICC, including the headquarters, detention unit, and public defense office.


The Office of the Prosecutor has opened ten official investigations and is also conducting an additional nine preliminary examinations.


Thus far, 39 individuals have been indicted in the ICC, including Ugandan rebel leader Joseph Kony, Sudanese president Omar al-Bashir, Kenyan president Uhuru Kenyatta, Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi, and Ivorian president Laurent Gbagbo.

Libya is a country in the Maghreb region of North Africa, bordered by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad and n*gg*r to the south, and Algeria and Tunisia to the west.

Muammar Mohammed Abu Minyar Gaddafi, commonly known as Colonel Gaddafi, was a Libyan revolutionary, politician, and political theorist.

Joseph R. Kony is the leader of the Lord's Resistance Army, a guerrilla group that formerly operated in Uganda.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
the Audi Q7
Professional Wrestling Throws
Big Brother
Khloé Kardashian
Natural Disasters
Due Process