Hispanic and Latino Americans


Hispanic Americans and Latino Americans are American citizens who are descendants of the peoples of the Spanish-speaking countries of Latin America.

Hispanic America, more generally called Spanish America, is the region comprising the Spanish-speaking nations in the Americas.

Latin America is the group of countries and dependencies in the Americas where Romance languages are predominant.

The term Hispanic broadly refers to the people, nations, and cultures that have a historical link to Spain.

Hispanics in California now outnumber whites - BBC News by BBC News


More generally, it includes all persons in the United States who self-identify as Hispanic or Latino, whether of full or partial ancestry.

The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a country composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions.

Hispanic Muslims by Ethan Harp


For the US census in 2010, American Community Survey, people counted as "Hispanic" or "Latino" are those who identify as one of the specific Hispanic or Latino categories listed on the census or ACS questionnaire as well as those who indicate that they are "other Spanish, Hispanic, or Latino."


The national origins classified as Hispanic or Latino by the U.S. Census Bureau are the following: Argentina, Cuba, Colombia, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, El Salvador, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Guatemala, officially the Republic of Guatemala, is a country in Central America bordered by Mexico to the north and west, the Pacific Ocean to the southwest, Belize to the northeast, the Caribbean to the east, Honduras to the east and El Salvador to the southeast.

Costa Rica, officially the Republic of Costa Rica, is a country in Central America, bordered by Nicaragua to the north, Panama to the southeast, the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Caribbean Sea to the east, and Ecuador to the south of Cocos Island.

Puerto Rico, officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and formerly known as and sometimes called Porto Rico, is the largest insular territory of the United States, and it is located in the northeastern Caribbean Sea.


Other U.S. government agencies have slightly different definitions of the term, including Brazilians and other Portuguese-speaking groups.


The Census Bureau uses the terms Hispanic and Latino interchangeably.


Origin can be viewed as the ancestry, nationality group, lineage, or country of birth of the person or the person's parents or ancestors before their arrival in the United States.


People who identify as Spanish, Hispanic, or Latino may be of any race.


As the only specifically designated category of ethnicity in the United States, Hispanics form a pan-ethnicity incorporating a diversity of inter-related cultural and linguistic heritages.

An ethnic group or ethnicity is a category of people who identify with each other based on similarities, such as common language, ancestral, social, cultural, or national experiences.

Panethnicity is a political neologism used to group together related ethnic groups.


Most Hispanic Americans are of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Salvadoran, Dominican, Guatemalan, or Colombian origin.


The predominant Hispanic origin varies widely across the country.


Hispanic Americans are the second fastest-growing ethnic group in the United States after Asian Americans.


Hispanic/Latinos overall are the second-largest ethnic group in the United States, after non-Hispanic Whites.

Non-Hispanic whites or whites not of Hispanic or Latino origin or "Anglo," are people in the United States who, as defined by the Census Bureau, are considered racially white and are not of Hispanic or Latino origin/ethnicity.


Hispanics have occupied territory of the present-day United States continuously since the sixteenth-century founding by the Spanish of Saint Augustine, Florida.


After Native Americans, Hispanics are the oldest ethnic group to inhabit much of what is today the United States.


Many have Native American ancestry.


Spain colonized large areas of what is today the American Southwest and West Coast, including present-day California, New Mexico, Arizona, and Texas, all of which were under the Republic of Mexico after its independence in the 19th century and until the end of the Mexican–American War.

The Southwestern United States is a region of the United States which includes Arizona, the western portion of New Mexico, bordered on the east by the Llano Estacado, southern Colorado and Utah below the 39th parallel, the "horn" of Texas below New Mexico, the southernmost triangle of Nevada, and the most southeastern portion of California, which encompasses the Mojave and Colorado Deserts.

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a sovereign state largely located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe, with archipelagos in the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea, and several small territories on and near the North African coast.

The Mexican–American War, also known as the Mexican War, the U.S.–Mexican War or the Invasion of Mexico, was an armed conflict between the United States of America and the United Mexican States from 1846 to 1848.

Violett Beane
Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome
Brand Safety
the Illegal Drug Trade
the Jefferson Memorial
DeMarcus Cousins
Richard Nixon
the Octopus