the Heisman Trophy


The Heisman Memorial Trophy, is awarded annually to the most outstanding player in college football in the United States whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity.

College football is American football played by teams of student athletes fielded by American universities, colleges, and military academies, or Canadian football played by teams of student athletes fielded by Canadian universities.

The United States of America, commonly referred to as the United States or America, is a federal republic composed of 50 states, a federal district, five major self-governing territories, and various possessions.

The Heisman Trophy is the second dumbest award in sports ... by Colin Cowherd


Winners epitomize great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work.

Robert Griffin III Wins Heisman Trophy by BaylorAthletics


It is presented by the Heisman Trophy Trust in early December before the postseason bowl games.


The award was created by the Downtown Athletic Club in 1935 to recognize "the most valuable college football player east of the Mississippi."

The Downtown Club, formerly known as the Downtown Athletic Club, was a private social and athletic club in a 45-story building located at 20 West Street in the Financial District of Lower Manhattan, New York City, United States.


After the death in October 1936 of the Club's athletic director, John Heisman, the award was named in his honor and broadened to include players west of the Mississippi.

John William Heisman was a player and coach of American football, basketball, and baseball, as well as a sportswriter and actor.


Heisman had been active in college athletics as a football player; a head football, basketball, and baseball coach; and an athletic director.


It is the oldest of several overall awards in college football, including the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, and the AP Player of the Year.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is given annually to the collegiate American football player of the year, as decided by a group of National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I FBS head coaches and sports information directors under the auspices of the Walter Camp Football Foundation; the award is named for Walter Camp, an important and influential figure in the development of the sport.

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the college football player judged by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, and National Collegiate Athletic Association head coaches and the membership of the Maxwell Football Club to be the best all-around in the United States.


The Heisman and the AP Player of the Year honor the most outstanding player, while the Maxwell and the Walter Camp award recognizes the best player, and the Archie Griffin Award recognizes the most valuable player.

The Touchdown Club of Columbus was founded in Columbus, Ohio, in 1956 by Sam B. Nicola at the request of state auditor James A. Rhodes, who later became governor of the state.


The most recent winner of the Heisman Trophy is University of Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson.

Louisville is the largest city in the Commonwealth of Kentucky and the 30th-most populous city in the United States.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
the University of Mississippi
Storm Surges