Government of the United Kingdom


Her Majesty's Government, commonly referred to as the UK government or British government, is the central government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom or Britain, is a sovereign state in western Europe.

Northern Ireland is a top-level constituent unit of the United Kingdom in the northeast of Ireland.

An introduction to Parliament by UK Parliament


The government is led by the Prime Minister, who selects all the remaining ministers.

The United Kingdom Gets Own 'Air Force One' | CNBC by CNBC


The prime minister and the other most senior ministers belong to the supreme decision-making committee, known as the Cabinet.


The government ministers all sit in Parliament, and are accountable to it.


The government is dependent on Parliament to make primary legislation, and since the Fixed-terms Parliaments Act 2011, general elections are held every five years to elect a new House of Commons, unless there is a successful vote of no confidence in the government in the House of Commons, in which case an election may be held sooner.

A motion of no confidence is a statement or vote that a person or persons in a position of responsibility is no longer deemed fit to hold that position: perhaps because they are inadequate in some respect, are failing to carry out obligations, or are making decisions that other members feel are detrimental.

In parliamentary systems of government, primary legislation and secondary legislation, the latter also called delegated legislation or subordinate legislation, are two forms of law, created respectively by the legislative and executive branches of government.


After an election, the monarch selects as prime minister the leader of the party most likely to command a majority of MPs in the House of Commons.


Under the uncodified British constitution, executive authority lies with the monarch, although this authority is exercised only by, or on the advice of, the prime minister and the cabinet.


The Cabinet members advise the monarch as members of the Privy Council.


They also exercise power directly as leaders of the Government Departments.


The current prime minister is Theresa May, who took office on 13 July 2016.


She is the leader of the Conservative Party, which won a majority of seats in the House of Commons in the general election on 7 May 2015, when David Cameron was the party leader.

David William Donald Cameron, PC is a British politician who was the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from May 2010 to July 2016.


Prior to this, Cameron and the Conservatives led a coalition government from 2010 to 2015 with the Liberal Democrats, in which Cameron was prime minister.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
MGM National Harbor
Tom Price