7 Facts About Government of Australia


The Government of the Commonwealth of Australia is the government of the Commonwealth of Australia, a federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

A constitutional monarchy is a form of monarchy in which the monarch executes their authorities in accordance with a set constitution, which can include political and constitutional conventions.

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands.

Australian Politics Explained by Grey Matters


The Commonwealth of Australia was formed in 1901 as a result of an agreement among six self-governing British colonies, which became the six states.

Three Levels of Australian Government by smithpj601


The terms of this contract are embodied in the Australian Constitution, which was drawn up at a Constitutional Convention and ratified by the people of the colonies at referendums.

The Constitution of Australia is the supreme law under which the government of the Commonwealth of Australia operates, including its relationship to the States of Australia.

A referendum is a direct vote in which an entire electorate is asked to vote on a particular proposal.


The Australian head of state is the Queen of Australia who is represented by the Governor-General of Australia, with executive powers delegated by constitutional convention to the Australian head of government, the Prime Minister of Australia.

Head of government is a generic term used for either the highest or second highest official in the executive branch of a sovereign state, a federated state, or a self-governing colony who often presides over a cabinet.

Governor-general or governor general, in modern usage, is the title of an office-holder appointed to represent the monarch of a sovereign state in the governing of an independent realm.

A head of state or Chief of State is the highest-ranking position in a sovereign state and is vested with powers to act as the chief public representative of that state.


The Government of the Commonwealth of Australia is divided into the executive branch, composed of the Federal Executive Council presided by the Governor-General, which delegates powers to the Cabinet of Australia led by the Prime Minister, the legislative branch composed of the Parliament of Australia's House of Representatives and Senate, and the judicial branch composed of the High Court of Australia and federal courts.

The Cabinet of Australia is the Australian Government's council of senior Ministers of the Crown, responsible to Parliament.

In modern politics and history, a parliament is a legislative, elected body of government.

High court usually refers to the superior court of a country or state.


Separation of powers is implied by the structure of the Constitution, the three branches of government being set out in separate chapters.

The separation of powers, often imprecisely and metonymically used interchangeably with the trias politica principle, is a model for the governance of a state.


The Australian system of government combines elements of the Westminster and Washington systems with unique Australian characteristics, and has been characterised as a "Washminster mutation".

18 Facts About Sheffield
4 Facts About Birthdays
5 Facts About Lists of Foods
13 Facts About Selena Gomez
12 Facts About Joe Greene
3 Facts About Taya Kyle
16 Facts About Steel
15 Facts About Michael Bloomberg
4 Facts About John Podesta
11 Facts About Aroldis Chapman
6 Facts About Bevo
4 Facts About Home Improvement