5 Facts About Eastern Ukraine


Eastern Ukraine or East Ukraine generally refers to territories of Ukraine east of the Dnieper river, particularly Kharkiv, Luhansk and Donetsk oblasts.

Ukraine is a sovereign state in Eastern Europe, bordered by Russia to the east and northeast, Belarus to the northwest, Poland and Slovakia to the west, Hungary, Romania, and Moldova to the southwest, and the Black Sea and Sea of Azov to the south and southeast, respectively.

Luhansk or Lugansk, formerly known as Voroshilovgrad is a city in the easternmost Ukraine.

Donetsk is an industrial city in Ukraine on the Kalmius River.

Russian TV crew caught in heavy fighting in Eastern Ukraine by RT


Dnipropetrovsk and Zaporizhia Oblasts sometimes are also regarded as Eastern Ukraine.

Zaporizhia, or Zaporozhye is a city in southeastern Ukraine, situated on the banks of the Dnieper River.

Dnipropetrovsk or Dnepropetrovsk, is Ukraine's fourth largest city, with about one million inhabitants.

In Eastern Ukraine, Pro-Russia Activists Dig In by Wall Street Journal


In regard to traditional territories the area encompasses portions of the southern Sloboda Ukraine, Donbas, the western Azov Littoral.

Sloboda Ukraine is a historical region, now located in Northeastern Ukraine and Southwestern Russia.

The Donbass or Donbas is a historical, cultural, and economic region in eastern Ukraine.


Almost a third of the country's population lives within the region, which includes several cities with population of around a million.


Within Ukraine, the region is the most highly urbanized, particularly portions of central Kharkiv Oblast, south-western Luhansk Oblast, central, northern and eastern areas of Donetsk Oblast.

3 Facts About Individual Retirement Account
18 Facts About Sheffield
4 Facts About Birthdays
5 Facts About Lists of Foods
13 Facts About Selena Gomez
12 Facts About Joe Greene
11 Facts About the World Series
3 Facts About the NBA Summer League
9 Facts About Chain Reactions
10 Facts About Cancer Survivors