Eastern Europe


Eastern Europe, also known as East Europe, is the eastern part of the European continent.

East is one of the four cardinal directions or points of the compass.

Europe is a continent that comprises the westernmost part of Eurasia.

A continent is one of several very large landmasses on Earth.

Visit Eastern Europe - Top Ten Cities in East Europe by Wolters World


The main definition describes Eastern Europe as a cultural entity: the region lying in Europe with the main characteristics consisting of Byzantine, Orthodox, and some Turco-Islamic influences.

The Byzantine Empire, also referred to as the Eastern Roman Empire, was the continuation of the Roman Empire in the East during Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages, when its capital city was Constantinople.

Eastern European Flags Explained! by Well... Actually


With certain simplifications, the border between Eastern Europe and Central Europe thus starts where Cyrillic alphabet use and Orthodox Religion begin, with the Balkans, the Caucasus and neighbouring Muslim countries complementing this group.

The Balkan Peninsula, or the Balkans, is a peninsula and a cultural area in Eastern and Southeastern Europe with various and disputed borders.

The Cyrillic script is a writing system used for various alphabets across eastern Europe and north and central Asia.

The Caucasus is a region at the border of Europe and Asia, situated between the Black and the Caspian seas.


This definition is fulfilled by Russia, Belarus and Ukraine, as well as the countries of Southeast Europe and the Balkans: Moldova, Romania, Bulgaria, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Albania, Montenegro, Kosovo and three Caucasus countries: Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan.

Ukraine is a sovereign state in Eastern Europe, bordered by Russia to the east and northeast, Belarus to the northwest, Poland and Slovakia to the west, Hungary, Romania, and Moldova to the southwest, and the Black Sea and Sea of Azov to the south and southeast, respectively.

Belarus, officially the Republic of Belarus, formerly known by its Russian name Byelorussia or Belorussia, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest.

Serbia, officially the Republic of Serbia, is a sovereign state situated at the crossroads between Central and Southeast Europe, covering the southern part of the Pannonian Plain and the central Balkans.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Charles Babbage
Mike Evans
George S. Patton
United States Seventh Fleet