Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals


Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals is an American immigration policy that allows some individuals with unlawful presence in the United States after being brought to the country as children to receive a renewable two-year period of deferred action from deportation and become eligible for a work permit in the U.S. To be eligible for the program, recipients cannot have felonies or serious misdemeanors on their records.

A misdemeanor or misdemeanour is any "lesser" criminal act in some common law legal systems.

Deportation is the expulsion of a person or group of people from a place or country.

Consideration For Deferred Action For Childhood Arrivals: Filling Out The Forms Step By Step by TheDreamReborn


Unlike the proposed DREAM Act, DACA does not provide a path to citizenship for recipients, known as Dreamers.

The DREAM Act is an American legislative proposal for a process for granting residency status to qualifying immigrants who entered the United States as minors.

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Renewal Process Explained by Corrales Law Group


The policy, an executive branch memorandum, was announced by President Barack Obama on June 15, 2012.

Barack Hussein Obama II is an American politician who is the 44th and current President of the United States.


U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services began accepting applications for the program on August 15, 2012.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services is an agency of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security that administers the country's naturalization and immigration system.


In November 2014, President Obama announced his intention to expand DACA to cover additional illegal immigrants.


Multiple states immediately sued to prevent the expansion which was ultimately blocked by an evenly divided Supreme Court.


Under President Trump the United States Department of Homeland Security rescinded the expansion on June 16, 2017, while continuing to review the existence of the DACA program as a whole.

The United States Department of Homeland Security is a cabinet department of the United States federal government with responsibilities in public security, roughly comparable to the interior or home ministries of other countries.


Plans to phase out DACA were announced by the Trump Administration on September 5, 2017; implementation was put on hold for six months to allow Congress time to pass the Dream Act or some other legislative protection for Dreamers.

The presidency of Donald Trump began at noon EST on January 20, 2017, the day that Donald Trump became the 45th President of the United States, succeeding Barack Obama.


Congress failed to act and the time extension expired on March 5, 2018, but the phase-out of DACA has been put on hold by several courts.


Research has shown that DACA increased the wages and employment status of DACA-eligible immigrants, and improved the mental health outcomes for DACA participants and their children.


It also reduced the number of illegal immigrant households living in poverty.


In August 2018, USCIS estimated there were 699,350 active DACA recipients residing in the United States.


Immigration researchers estimate the population to be between 690,000 and 800,000 people.


On August 31, 2018, District Court Judge Andrew Hanen ruled that DACA is likely unconstitutional.


However, he let the program remain in place as litigation proceeds.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Corporation for Public Broadcasting
Investment Funds
the Chicago Sky
Inelastic Collisions