the Crown of Castile


The Crown of Castile was a medieval state in the Iberian Peninsula that formed in 1230 as a result of the third and definitive union of the crowns and, some decades later, the parliaments of the kingdoms of Castile and LeĂłn upon the accession of the then Castilian king, Ferdinand III, to the vacant Leonese throne.

The Iberian Peninsula, is located in the southwest corner of Europe.

The Crown of Castile by Johnnie Vinson by John Robertson


It continued to exist as a separate entity after the personal union in 1469 of the crowns of Castile and Aragon with the marriage of the Catholic Monarchs up to the promulgation of the Nueva Planta decrees by Philip V in 1715.

The Nueva Planta decrees were a number of decrees signed between 1707 and 1716 by Philip V—the first Bourbon King of Spain—during and shortly after the end of the War of the Spanish Succession by the Treaty of Utrecht.

A personal union is the combination of two or more states that have the same monarch while their boundaries, laws, and interests remain distinct.

The Catholic Monarchs is the joint title used in history for Queen Isabella I of Castile and King Ferdinand II of Aragon.

The Battle of Aljubarrota 1385 AD by BazBattles


The Indies, Islands and Mainland of the Ocean Sea were also a part of the Crown of Castile when transformed from lordships to kingdoms of the heirs of Castile in 1506, with the Treaty of Villafáfila, and upon the death of Ferdinand the Catholic.

The Treaty of Villafáfila is a treaty signed by Ferdinand the Catholic in Villafáfila on 27 June 1506 and by Philip the Handsome in Benavente, Zamora, on 28 June.


The title of "King of Castile" remained in use by the Habsburg rulers during the 16th and 17th centuries.


Charles I was King of Aragon, Majorca, Valencia, and Sicily, and Count of Barcelona, Roussillon and Cerdagne, as well as King of Castile and León, 1516–1556.


In the early 18th century, Philip of Bourbon won the War of the Spanish Succession and imposed unification policies over the Crown of Aragon, supporters of their enemies.

The Crown of Aragon was a composite monarchy, also nowadays referred to as a confederation of individual polities or kingdoms ruled by one king, with a personal and dynastic union of the Kingdom of Aragon and the County of Barcelona.

The War of the Spanish Succession was a major European conflict of the early 18th century, triggered by the death in 1700 of the last Habsburg King of Spain, the infirm and childless Charles II.

Aragon is an autonomous community in Spain, coextensive with the medieval Kingdom of Aragon.


This unified the Crown of Aragon and the Crown of Castile into the kingdom of Spain.

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is a sovereign state largely located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe, with archipelagos in the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea, and several small territories on and near the North African coast.


Even though the Nueva Planta decrees did not formally abolish the Crown of Castile, the country of was called "Spain" by both contemporaries and historians.


"King of Castile" also remains part of the full title of Felipe VI of Spain, the current King of Spain according to the Spanish constitution of 1978, in the sense of titles, not of states.

The Spanish Constitution of 1978 is the current supreme law of the legal system of the Kingdom of Spain to which the public authority and citizens of Spain are subject.

The Monarchy of Spain, constitutionally referred to as the Crown, is a constitutional institution and historic office of Spain.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
Chance the Rapper
Lou Gehrig
the Opioid Epidemic
the FIFA World Cup
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Eugene Cernan