9 Facts About the Contiguous United States


The contiguous United States consists of the 48 adjoining U.S. states plus Washington, D.C., on the continent of North America.

Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and commonly referred to as "Washington", "the District", or simply "D.C.", is the capital of the United States.

North America is a continent entirely within the Northern Hemisphere and almost all within the Western Hemisphere.

A U.S. state is a constituent political entity of the United States.

First Baby With Zika-Related Microcephaly Born in ... by Inside Edition


The term excludes the non-contiguous states of Alaska and Hawaii and all off-shore United States territories and possessions, which include American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Puerto Rico, officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and formerly known as and sometimes called Porto Rico, is the largest insular territory of the United States, and it is located in the northeastern Caribbean Sea.

The Northern Mariana Islands, officially the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, is an insular area and commonwealth of the United States consisting of fifteen islands in the northwestern Pacific Ocean.

American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of Samoa.

300 Largest United States Cities ยท Map & Pronunciation by feqwix


The greatest distance entirely within the 48 contiguous states is 2,802 miles ; the greatest north-south line is 1,650 miles.


Together, the 48 contiguous states and Washington, D.C. occupy a combined area of 3,119,884.69 square miles, which is 1.58% of the total surface area of Earth.

Earth is the third planet from the Sun, the densest planet in the Solar System, the largest of the Solar System's four terrestrial planets, and the only astronomical object known to harbor life.


Of this area, 2,959,064.44 square miles is land, composing 83.65% of U.S. land area, similar to the area of Australia.

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands.


Officially, 160,820.25 square miles is water area, composing 62.66% of the nation's total water area.


The contiguous United States would be placed 5th in the list of sovereign states and dependencies by area; the total area of the country, including Alaska and Hawaii, ranks fourth.


Brazil is the only country that is larger in total area than the contiguous United States, but smaller than the entire United States, while Russia, Canada and China are the only three countries larger than both.

Brazil, officially the Federative Republic of Brazil, is the largest country in both South America and Latin America.

China, officially the People's Republic of China, is a unitary sovereign state in East Asia.

Russia, also officially known as the Russian Federation, is a federal state in Eurasia.


The 2010 census population of this area was 306,675,006, comprising 99.33% of the nation's population, and a density of 103.639 inhabitantssq mi for the nation as a whole.

3 Facts About Skeletal Pneumaticity
20 Facts About Bay-and-Gable
18 Facts About the Liberty Bell
12 Facts About Nicholas
3 Facts About Nicholas Nickleby
12 Facts About HTTP Cookie
3 Facts About Reince Priebus
11 Facts About Lynyrd Skynyrd
14 Facts About Logan
16 Facts About Egypt
15 Facts About Palestinians
6 Facts About Broadway Theatres