the Conservative Party


The Conservative Party, officially the Conservative and Unionist Party, is a political party in the United Kingdom.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom or Britain, is a sovereign state in Europe.

A political party is a group of people who come together to contest elections and hold power in the government.

Trump: I'm a conservative, but it's called the Republican ... by Washington Free Beacon


It is currently the governing party, having won a majority of seats in the House of Commons after the 2015 general election.


The party's leader Theresa May is currently serving as Prime Minister.

Theresa Mary May is Prime Minister of the United Kingdom and Leader of the Conservative Party, in office since July 2016.


It is the largest party in local government with 8,296 councillors.


The Conservative Party was founded in 1834 from the Tory Party—giving rise to the Conservatives' colloquial name of Tories—and was one of two dominant parties in the 19th century, along with the Liberal Party.


In the 1920s, the Liberal vote greatly diminished and the Labour Party became the Conservatives' main rivals.


Conservative Prime Ministers led governments for 57 years of the 20th century, including Winston Churchill and Margaret Thatcher.

Margaret Hilda Thatcher, Baroness Thatcher, LG, OM, PC, FRS, FRIC was a British stateswoman who was Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1979 to 1990 and the Leader of the Conservative Party from 1975 to 1990.

Sir Winston Leonard Spencer-Churchill, KG, OM, CH, TD, PC, DL, FRS, RA was a British statesman who was the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1940 to 1945 and again from 1951 to 1955.


Thatcher's tenure led to wide-ranging economic liberalisation and saw the Conservatives become the most eurosceptic of the three major parties.

The euro is the official currency of the eurozone, which consists of 19 of the 28 member states of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.


The Conservative Party's domination of British politics throughout the 20th century has led to them being referred to as one of the most successful political parties in the Western world.


The Conservatives are the joint-second largest British party in the European Parliament, with twenty MEPs, and sit with the European Conservatives and Reformists parliamentary group.


The party is a member of the Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe Europarty and the International Democrat Union.

The Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe - formerly known as the Alliance of European Conservatives and Reformists - is a conservative and eurorealist European political party, promoting conservative and economically liberal principles.

The International Democrat Union is an international alliance of centre-right political parties.


The party is the second-largest in the Scottish Parliament and third-largest in the Welsh Assembly.

The National Assembly for Wales is a devolved assembly with power to make legislation in Wales.

The Scottish Parliament, is the devolved national, unicameral legislature of Scotland.


The Conservatives were formerly allied to the Ulster Unionist Party in Northern Ireland but there is now a separate Northern Ireland Conservative party similar to the Welsh and Scottish Conservative parties.

Northern Ireland is a top-level constituent unit of the United Kingdom in the northeast of Ireland.


The party is also organised in the British Overseas Territory of Gibraltar.

The fourteen British Overseas Territories are territories under the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United Kingdom.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
Al Udeid Air Base
Climate Change
Alex Jones
Silicon Valley
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania