the College Football Playoff


The College Football Playoff is an annual postseason tournament in American college football for the National Collegiate Athletic Association 's Division I Football Bowl Subdivision.

College football is American football played by teams of student athletes fielded by American universities, colleges, and military academies, or Canadian football played by teams of student athletes fielded by Canadian universities.

The National Collegiate Athletic Association is a non-profit association which regulates athletes of 1,281 institutions, conferences, organizations, and individuals.

2015 College Football Playoff National Championship: #4 ... by Robert Perry Network


It began with the 2014 NCAA Division I FBS football season.

The 2014 NCAA Division I FBS football season, play of college football in the United States in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, began on August 27, 2014, with the regular season ending on December 13, 2014, and, not including all-star games, concluded on January 12, 2015.

2014 was a common year starting on Wednesday of the Gregorian calendar, the 2014th year of the Common Era and Anno Domini designations, the 14th year of the 3rd millennium, the 14th year of the 21st century, and the 5th year of the 2010s decade.

Division 1 and variants may refer to:

Alabama vs Clemson - CFP National Championship 01.11.2016 by College Football Fans


Four teams play in two semifinal games, and the winners advance to the College Football Playoff National Championship.


The CFP is the first time the top-level NCAA football championship has been determined by a bracket competition.


A 13-member committee selects and seeds the four teams to take part.


This differs from the use of polls or computer rankings to select the participants for the Bowl Championship Series, FBS college football's title system from 1998 to 2013.

The Bowl Championship Series was a selection system that created five bowl game match-ups involving ten of the top ranked teams in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Football Bowl Subdivision of American college football, including an opportunity for the top two teams to compete in the BCS National Championship Game.


The new format is a Plus-One system, an idea which became popular as an alternative to the BCS after the 2003 and 2004 seasons ended in controversy.


The two semifinal games rotate among six major bowl games, sometimes referred to as the New Year's Six: the Rose, Sugar, Orange, Cotton, Fiesta, and Peach.


The semifinals are scheduled mainly for the final Saturday or Friday of the year, or on New Year's Day.

New Year's Day, also called simply New Year's or New Year, is observed on January 1, the first day of the year on the modern Gregorian calendar as well as the Julian calendar.


The championship is played on the first Monday that is six or more days after the semifinals.


The championship game's venue is selected based on bids submitted by cities, similar to the Super Bowl or NCAA Final Four.

The Super Bowl is the annual championship game of the National Football League, the highest level of professional American football in the world.


The winner is awarded the College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy.


Playoff officials commissioned a new trophy that was unconnected with the previous championship systems.


The College Football Playoff is not an officially sanctioned championship event by the NCAA, the sport's governing body.


Because of this, Division I FBS football is the only NCAA sport in which a yearly champion is not determined by an NCAA championship event and an official NCAA National Championship is not given.


In addition to the four teams selected for the playoff, the final CFP rankings are used to help determine the participants for the other four major bowls that are not hosting the semifinals that year.

Violett Beane
Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome
Brand Safety
the Western
Nicholas Nickleby
Head Start
the Atlantic Ocean