13 Facts About the Chicago Cubs


The Chicago Cubs are an American professional baseball team based in Chicago, Illinois.

Baseball is a bat-and-ball game played between two teams of nine players each, who take turns batting and fielding.

MLB 2015-0814 - Cubs at White Sox by mex_mangust sports


The Cubs compete in Major League Baseball as a member club of the National League Central division.

The National League of Professional Baseball Clubs, known simply as the National League, is the older of two leagues constituting Major League Baseball in the United States and Canada, and the world's oldest current professional team sports league.

Major League Baseball is a professional baseball organization, the oldest of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada.

Central is an adjective usually referring to being in the center of some place or object.

1979 Chicago Cubs broadcast highlights by ClassicMLB11


The team plays its home games at Wrigley Field, located on the city's North Side.

Wrigley Field is a baseball park on the North Side of Chicago, Illinois, which is the home of the Chicago Cubs, one of the city's two Major League Baseball franchises.


The Cubs are one of two Major League teams in Chicago; the other, the Chicago White Sox, are members of the American League Central division.

AL, Al or al may stand for:


The team, first known as the White Stockings, was a founding member of the NL in 1876, becoming the Chicago Cubs in 1903.


In 1906, the Cubs won a Major League record 116 games, finishing 116โ€“36 and posted a modern-era record winning percentage of.763, before losing the World Series to the Chicago White Sox by four games to two.

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball in North America, contested since 1903 between the American League champion team and the National League champion team.


The Cubs won back-to-back World Series championships in 1907 and 1908, becoming the first Major League team to play in three consecutive World Series, and the first to win it twice.


The team has appeared in a total of ten World Series, most recently in 1945.


The Cubs have not won the World Series in 107 years, and they have not won the National League pennant in 71 years, both of which are record "droughts" in Major League Baseball.


Since the start of divisional play in 1969, the Cubs have appeared in the postseason seven times.


This included four trips to the League Championship Seriesโ€”in 1984, 1989, 2003, and 2015.

The League Championship Series is the official name for the semifinal round of postseason play in Major League Baseball which has been conducted since 1969.


The Cubs are known as "the North Siders", a reference to the location of Wrigley Field within the city of Chicago, and in contrast to the White Sox, whose home of U.S. Cellular Field is on the South Side.


The Cubs have a divisional rivalry with the St. Louis Cardinals, and an interleague rivalry with the Chicago White Sox.

The St. Louis Brown Stockings were a professional baseball club based in St. Louis, Missouri, from 1875 to 1877, which competed on the cusps of the existences of two all-professional leagues โ€“โ€“ the National Association and the National League.

4 Facts About Dan Reynolds
11 Facts About Ancaster, Ontario
3 Facts About Abila
11 Facts About Gibraltar
7 Facts About Monte Hacho
9 Facts About Relapse
15 Facts About Justin Timberlake
20 Facts About Leicester City F.C.
7 Facts About LTE
18 Facts About the Statue of Liberty
12 Facts About Hong Kong People
14 Facts About the New York Times