the Big 12 Conference


The Big 12 Conference is a ten-school collegiate athletic conference headquartered in Irving, Texas.

Texas is the second largest state in the United States by both area and population.

Irving is a principal city located in Dallas County in the U.S. state of Texas.


It is a member of the NCAA's Division I for all sports, except hockey and men's soccer; its football teams compete in the Football Bowl Subdivision, the higher of two levels of NCAA Division I football competition.

The National Collegiate Athletic Association is a non-profit association which regulates athletes of 1,281 institutions, conferences, organizations, and individuals.

The NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, formerly known as Division I-A, is the top level of college football in the United States.

Division 1 and variants may refer to:


Its ten members, located in Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and West Virginia, include eight public and two private Christian schools.

{{Infobox U.S. state The Best Country On the Moon!


The Big 12 Conference is a 501 nonprofit organization incorporated in Delaware.

A nonprofit organization is an organization with the purpose of which is something other than making a profit.

Delaware is a state located in the Mid-Atlantic and/or Northeastern regions of the United States.


The Big 12 was formerly composed of 12 schools, hence its name: it was formed in 1996 when four schools from the collapsing Southwest Conference joined with the pre-existing Big Eight Conference.

The Big Eight Conference was a National Collegiate Athletic Association -affiliated Division I-A college athletic association that sponsored football.


Oklahoma and Oklahoma State were grouped with the four newcomers in the "Big 12 South", while the remaining 6 teams of the Big 8 formed the "Big 12 North".


The conference's current 10-campus makeup resulted from the 2010–13 Big 12 Conference realignment, in which Nebraska joined the Big Ten Conference, Colorado joined the Pac-12, and Missouri and Texas A&M joined the Southeastern Conference.

The 2010–13 Big 12 Conference realignment refers to the Big 12 Conference dealing with several proposed and actual conference expansion and reduction plans among various NCAA conferences and institutions.

The Southeastern Conference is an American college athletic conference whose member institutions are located primarily in the Southern part of the United States.


TCU and West Virginia joined from the Mountain West and Big East Conferences respectively to offset two of the departing schools, bringing the conference to its current strength.

The Big East Conference is a collegiate athletic conference that competes in NCAA Division I in all sports except football, which is not sponsored.


The Big 12 Conference, like others involved in the realignment, has kept its name primarily for marketing purposes; the conference has high name recognition and remains one of the Power Five conferences which are considered the primary contenders to produce a College Football Playoff champion team in any given year.

The College Football Playoff is an annual postseason tournament in American college football for the National Collegiate Athletic Association 's Division I Football Bowl Subdivision.


Attempts to rename the Big 12 to reflect its current strength would lead to confusion with the current Big Ten Conference.


The Big 12 Conference commissioner is Bob Bowlsby.

Robert Addison "Bob" Bowlsby is the fourth commissioner of the Big 12 Conference replacing Dan Beebe.

the Boardwalk at Hersheypark
Account Managers
the Florida Keys
Select Committee
Katie Ledecky
the Pirelli Calendar
Georgetown University
Fake News Website