the Appalachian Mountains


The Appalachian Mountains, often called the Appalachians, are a system of mountains in eastern North America.

Appalachia is a cultural region in the Eastern United States that stretches from the Southern Tier of New York to northern Alabama, Mississippi and Georgia.

A mountain is a large landform that stretches above the surrounding land in a limited area, usually in the form of a peak.

North America is a continent entirely within the Northern Hemisphere and almost all within the Western Hemisphere.

a simple life in the appalachian mountains - all chapters by Matthew Greenwood


The Appalachians first formed roughly 480 million years ago during the Ordovician Period.

The Ordovician is a geologic period and system, the second of six periods of the Paleozoic Era.

History of Appalachian People in US | Appalachian mountains - Pt 3 || Documentary English subtitles by Derick Maegan


It once reached elevations similar to those of the Alps and the Rocky Mountains before naturally occurring erosion.

The Alps are the highest and most extensive mountain range system that lies entirely in Europe, stretching approximately 1,200 kilometres across eight Alpine countries: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

The Rocky Mountains, commonly known as the Rockies, are a major mountain range in western North America.


The Appalachian chain is a barrier to east-west travel, as it forms a series of alternating ridgelines and valleys oriented in opposition to most roads running east or west.


Definitions vary on the precise boundaries of the Appalachians.


The United States Geological Survey defines the Appalachian Highlands physiographic division as consisting of thirteen provinces: the Atlantic Coast Uplands, Eastern Newfoundland Atlantic, Maritime Acadian Highlands, Maritime Plain, Notre Dame and Mégantic Mountains, Western Newfoundland Mountains, Piedmont, Blue Ridge, Valley and Ridge, Saint Lawrence Valley, Appalachian Plateaus, New England province, and the Adirondack provinces.

New England is a geographical region which comprises six states of the northeastern United States: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

The Notre Dame and Mégantic Mountains in Canada are a physiographic province of the larger Appalachian division, and also contain the Chic-Choc Mountains.

The Appalachian Plateau is a series of rugged, high plains located on the western side of the Appalachian Highlands.


A common variant definition does not include the Adirondack Mountains, which geologically belong to the Grenville Orogeny and have a different geological history from the rest of the Appalachians.

The Grenville orogeny was a long-lived Mesoproterozoic mountain-building event associated with the assembly of the supercontinent Rodinia.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
the History of Mesopotamia
Christian Schools
Deaths in 2016
Michael Vey: the Prisoner of Cell 25
Michael Bloomberg
the Democratic Party