African Elephants


African elephants are elephants of the genus Loxodonta, from Greek λοξός + ὀδούς.

A genus is a taxonomic rank used in the biological classification of living and fossil organisms in biology.

Elephants are large mammals of the family Elephantidae and the order Proboscidea.

Africa is the world's second-largest and second-most-populous continent.

Africa's Elephant Kingdom HD by mb1968ca


The genus consists of two extant species: the African bush elephant, L. africana, and the smaller African forest elephant, L. cyclotis.

In biology, a species is one of the basic units of biological classification and a taxonomic rank.

Wild African elephant with attitute - BBC wildlife by BBCWorldwide


Loxodonta is one of two existing genera of the family Elephantidae.

Elephantidae is a family of large, herbivorous mammals collectively called elephants and mammoths.


Fossil remains of Loxodonta have been found only in Africa, in strata as old as the middle Pliocene.

The Pliocene Epoch is the epoch in the geologic timescale that extends from 5.333 million to 2.58 million years BP.

A fossil is any preserved remains, impression, or trace of any once-living thing from a past geological age.


However, sequence analysis of DNA extracted from fossils of an extinct elephant species undermines the validity of the genus.

In biology and ecology, extinction is the end of an organism or of a group of organisms, normally a species.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
William Booth
We Bare Bears
Conflict of Interest
the Open Championship
Webserver Directory Index