the Academy of Country Music Awards


The Academy of Country Music Awards, also known as the ACM Awards, were first held in 1966, honoring the industry's accomplishments during the previous year.

The Academy of Country Music was founded in 1964 in Los Angeles, California as the Country & Western Music Academy.

Academy of Country Music Awards Red Carpet Live - 2012 by d*ck clark productions


It was the first country music awards program held by a major organization.

Country music is a genre of United States popular music that originated in the Southern United States in the 1920s.

CBS All Access- The Academy of Country Music Awards by CBS


The Academy's signature "hat" trophy was first created in 1968.


The awards were first televised in 1972 on ABC.


In 1979, the Academy joined with d*ck Clark Productions to produce the show.

Richard Augustus Wagstaff "d*ck" Clark Jr. was an American radio and television personality, as well as a cultural icon who remains best known for hosting American Bandstand from 1957 to 1987.

d*ck Clark Productions is an American entertainment production company founded by entertainer d*ck Clark.


d*ck Clark and Al Schwartz served as producers while Gene Weed served as director.


Under their guidance, the show moved to NBC and finally to CBS, where it remains today.

The National Broadcasting Company is an American commercial broadcast television network that is the flagship property of NBCUniversal, a subsidiary of Comcast.


In 2003, the awards show left Los Angeles because a security guard refused to let d*ck Clark's wife on the Universal property and moved to Las Vegas at the Mandalay Bay Events Center through 2005.

Las Vegas, officially the City of Las Vegas and often known as simply Vegas, is a city in the United States, the most populous city in the state of Nevada, the county seat of Clark County, and the city proper of the Las Vegas Valley.

Mandalay Bay Events Center is a 12,000-seat indoor arena at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino, on the Las Vegas Strip, in Paradise, Nevada.


The Academy also adopted a sleeker, modern version of the "hat" trophy in 2003, which is now made by the New York City firm Society Awards.

Society Awards is an American company best known for its custom design and manufacturing of high-profile entertainment industry awards, including the Emmy Award, Golden Globe Award, and GLAAD Media Award, among others.


In 2004, the organization implemented online awards voting for its professional members, becoming the first televised awards show to do so.


The show was moved to the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas from 2006 through 2014 before relocating to AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex in 2015.

The Dallas–Fort Worth–Arlington, TX Metropolitan Statistical Area, the official title designated by the United States Office of Management and Budget, encompasses 13 counties within the U.S. state of Texas.

AT&T Stadium, formerly Cowboys Stadium, is a city-owned 80,000-seat capacity stadium with a retractable roof in Arlington, Texas, United States.

Arlington is a principal city in the U.S. state of Texas, located in Tarrant County.


The 2015 show broke the Guinness record for Most Attended Awards Show, with 70,252.


The show returned to the MGM Grand Garden Arena in 2016 then moved to the new T-Mobile Arena in 2017.


Entertainer of the Year was a fan-voted award for eight years, until 2016, when the ACM announced its decision to abandon Internet-voting for it and three new-artist categories.

Asymptotic Freedom
Site Map
the National Register of Citizens
the Forum Corporation
Cornell University
Nationals Park